Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
U.S. Department of Homeland Security
This official site features press releases and other documents that define the role and work of DHS. Emphasis is on these areas: Emergencies and Disasters, Travel and Transportation, Immigration and Borders, Research and Technology, and Threats and Protection. Much of the focus is on terrorism, but natural disasters and other emergencies are also addressed. A good source for remarks by government officials on issues related to terrorism and national security.
Homeland Security Digital Library 2002-
This is a database that compiles documents relevant to homeland security policy and the national strategy related to that discipline. Information contained in the HDSL originates from federal, state and local government agencies, research institutions, universities, and think tanks. The collection maintains documents created since 2002, while some collections contain earlier documents that are relevant to current initiatives. It is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security.
Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)
Part of the Department of Homeland Security, the FEMA site includes information about on-going disaster responses, various response plans, key emergency management officials at the State and local levels, documents, and other resources.
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Emergency Preparedness
EPA's site covers prevention, risk management, preparedness, emergency response, and counter terrorism. Also includes information on regulations, software, publications, and links to related web sites. A key site for information dealing with hazardous materials, chemical accidents, and oil spills.
U.S Geological Survey
Has sections covering land-based natural hazards (earthquakes, floods, volcanoes).
National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration/Office of Response and Restoration
Access tools, information, and software for responders to oil spills, chemical accidents, hazardous materials releases, and ship groundings.
National Hurricane Center
A center of the National Weather Service. Issues watches, warnings, forecasts, and analyses of hazardous tropical weather. Includes satellite and radar images, information on hurricane awareness, and historical storm-related data.
State and Local Government Websites
National Emergency Management Association (NEMA)
NEMA is an organization of state-level emergency management officials. The NEMA online library provides full-text access to documents and presentations from NEMA committees. This site also includes information on NEMA membership, conferences, job listings and a directory of Emergency Management contacts by state.
International Association of Emergency Managers (IAEM)
IAEM is an association of local (city and county) emergency management officials. This site provides information on IAEM activities and membership. Selected issues of the newsletter are available online, as well as a bulletin board and discussion list.
National Governor's Association (NGA)
From the NGA homepage, visit the Site Index and scroll to the Homeland Security and Technology Division. This will lead to sections on Bioterrorism, Emergency Management, and Homeland Security. Within these sections are links to several substantial, full-text publications, including a 2 volume Governor's Guide to Emergency Management, Domestic Preparedness Checklist, and presentations from the NGA Bioterrorism Summit.