The resources below will help you identify engineering standards. Most standards must be purchased, but some are available at UGA or through InterLibrary Loan. Contact sciref@uga.edu about gaining access to a specific standard.
Full text of all current ASTM standards and journals. Covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including civil, mechanical, chemical, and environmental engineering.
Provides access to standards that have been incorporated by reference in the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). Standards are read-only, with no print or download options.
The database of the American National Standards Institute (ANSI); covers ANSI-approved standards as well as some non-ANSI documents. Search by keyword in title or by document number. ANSI University Outreach Program includes free access to select ISO and IEC standards.
The ASSIST database provides access to the full text of Defense and Federal specifications and standards available. Search by number, keyword in title or browse by subject (FSA - Federal Supply Class).
Derwent Innovations Index (DII) combines the Derwent World Patents Index with the Patent Citation Index. DII allows for precise searching of over 14 million patents from 40 issuing agencies worldwide by topic, title, patent numbers, classification codes, inventor, assignee and compound. Most entries have links to abstracts and PDFs of the original patent applications with full text and images. For each patent, DII provides links to patents cited by the inventor and examiner as well as later patents that cite it. Using the Cited Patent Search option, researchers can search directly for patents that cite another patent. As part of the Web of Knowledge platform, DII also links to related journals, conference proceedings, and books that cite the patent.
The Lens focuses on illuminating what innovation capabilities exist, who and which institutions have them, and how those capabilities fit into the complex jigsaw puzzle of problem solving.
Search 30 million patent documents including 2.2 million published international patent applications (PCT).
Patent Classification Tools
Patents are tough to search using keywords because of the complex legal and technical language they contain. To help patent searchers, patent offices use classification systems to group similar technologies together. If you find the right class, you can find all of the inventions related to that type of technology, regardless of how they're described.
CPC is the patent classification system that is currently used by the United States and the European Patent Office. Other countries may also move to this system in the future. CPC is based on the International Patent Classification (IPC) system, but features many more sub-categories for more precise searching.
The CPC system is arranged hierarchically, with each additional digit or letter adding a layer of complexity. Espacenet's CPC browser is an excellent way of exploring (or searching) this system to find the right code for your invention.
USPC is the legacy system used by the United States Patent & Trademark Office until 2016. It is no longer in use, although it can still be searched in some databases.
