Databases & Subject Guides: ¡BIENESTAR! Research Lab: Library Resources

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

All Library Hours

Leisure Reading Collection

Looking for something fun to read? Check out our Leisure Reading Collections to browse fiction, nonfiction, and graphic novels!

Main Library

On the 1st floor of the Main Library, when you enter the Coffee & Bagels shop, you'll find the Leisure Reading Collection in the back corner.

Here is a list of most of the fiction books in the Leisure Reading Collection at the Main Library.

McBay Science Library

When you enter the McBay Science Library, keep walking straight ahead to the other side of the floor. The Leisure Collection is located next to the windows that are opposite the entrance.

Here is a list of most of the fiction books in the Leisure Reading Collection at the McBay Science Library.

Additional Resources

The UGA Libraries have many more "fun" (unrelated to coursework) fiction and nonfiction books in our collection of over 5 million books, including titles you can read online as an ebook. If you would like help with finding your next fun read, the UGA Librarians are here to help! Chat with us online.

Curriculum Materials Library Game Collection

The Curriculum Materials Library houses an impressive tabletop game collection. The collection includes games for young players (starting at 3+ years), quick games (games that can be finished in 15 minutes or less), as well as some old standard classics.

All of our games have a 2-week loan period with 2 automatic renewals for UGA students, staff, faculty, and UGA outside borrowers. Games do need to be checked out and returned to the Curriculum Materials Library in 207 Aderhold Hall.

For more information and a full list of games, visit https://guides.libs.uga.edu/games-at-cml.

UGA Libraries Media Collection

The Media Collection includes educational documentaries, classic cinema, and international titles for both visual and audio media. Media Collection materials are available to UGA affiliates (faculty, students, staff) by requesting them online through the GIL-Find catalog or in person at the Main Library circulation desk.

The UGA Libraries offer also offer free streaming video through Kanopy.

Streaming Audio

Did you know that UGA Libraries provides access to several streaming audio platforms? See below for more information:

Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library (NML) offers streaming audio access to more than 35,750 CDs consisting of over 510,200 tracks of music. NML not only covers standard classical repertoire but also offers an enormous range of specialist repertoire not available from ot
Music Online: Listening
Streaming music audio collection including classical, jazz, world, American and popular music.
Streaming audio collection for music teaching and research. Music Online: Listening provides coverage in key musical genres: classical, jazz, world, American and popular music.
BabelScores: Contemporary Music Online
BabelScores Online Library lets you read thousands of recent classical music scores and listen to their recordings.
Contains contemporary scores and audio from the past few decades, featuring composers worldwide with an emphasis on composers from Europe. Users have access to online scores (over 200,000 pages) and streaming audio. Users may browse by composer name or date, or search by performing forces, publisher, world region, and technical difficulty.
Berliner Philharmoniker Digital Concert Hall
Streaming archive covering five decades of performances by the Berliner Philharmoniker. Also includes interviews and documentaries. Individual registration is required.
Contains an archive covering five decades. Each season Berliner Philharmoniker Digital Concert Hall offers over 40 live streams of concerts which are later added to the archive. Also includes interviews and documentaries. The sound quality is similar to that of a CD and the picture quality similar to HD television.
Met Opera on Demand
Online streaming database of over more than 600 full-length Metroplitan Opera performances
Provides video and/or audio streaming access to over 600 productions from New York?s Metropolitan Opera, including recent high-definition videos from the Met?s Live in HD series, telecasts from the 1970s-2000s, and radio broadcasts dating back to 1936. New additions occur monthly. All videos subtitled.
Ethnomusicology: Global Field Recordings
Audio field recordings and interviews in ethnomusicology
Produced in collaboration with the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive, this database is comprised of over 60 field collections from ethnomusicologists dating from the mid-twentieth century to the early twenty-first century. The audio recordings, videos, field notebooks and journals in this resource document musical traditions and how music interacts with different societies and cultures all over the globe. There are recordings from Alaska to the Pacific Islands, West Africa to Indonesia, including religious music, secular music, celebrations and funerals. There are interviews with musicians, slides and photographs of field sites and photographs of instruments.
Birds of the World
Guide to the birds of the world including descriptions, geographic distribution information, systematic information, habitats, and more, complemented by images, sound files, and video clips.
Birds of the World brings together scholarly content from four works of ornithology?Birds of North America, Neotropical Birds, Handbook of the Birds of the World Alive, and Bird Families of the World. Included in the descriptions for each species is distribution, systematic, migration, habitat, and behavior information. There are images, sound files, and video clips associated with most birds in the database.

Study Carrels

Need a quiet space to work? Individual study carrels are available for use by UGA affiliates in both the Main and McBay Science Libraries.

Visit this page to see a list of carrels available on a first-come, first-served basis at both libraries:

https://www.libs.uga.edu/access-services/carrels

You can also reserve an open carrel at the Main Library online - Select the location "Main Library" and search by Category "Quiet Exam Carrels."

Graduate students engaged in research can also reserve a private study carrel on long-term basis a at the Main Library by filling out an application form. When completed, please submit the application to the Circulation Desk at the Main Library or send in an email to maincirc@uga.edu.

Technology Lending

Worried about being able to access the technology you need? Want to relax with some VR? The UGA Libraries have what you need!

Laptops are available for 7 day loans from the Main Library, McBay Science Library, and Miller Learning Center.
Laptops can also be loaned for one semester through the UGA Libraries CARES Program.
The Miller Learning Center also offers Canon DSLR cameras, tripods, and Mac laptop chargers. See a list of equipment here.
Escape reality for a bit with our Oculus Quest 2 virtual reality headsets available for 7 day loans from the McBay Science Library.

For more information about technology lending at the UGA Libraries, visit:

https://www.libs.uga.edu/access-services/tech-loans.

Makerspace

The UGA Libraries Makerspace is a campus-wide resource supporting all UGA students in creative making for educational, non-commercial purposes. Located at the McBay Science Library in room 381, we provide project-based instruction that inspires curiosity, exploration, and innovative uses of technology. Come learn, prototype, and iterate!

Technology

MakerBot Replicator+ FDM 3D Printers training required
- *we compost the PLA waste from our 3D Printers
Form 3+ SLA resin 3D Printers training required
3D Scanner (Revopoint POP)
Arduino; MakeyMakey; multimeters; Raspberry Pi
Laser Cutter training required (Dremel LC40)
Cricut Maker3 & Button Makers (1" & 2.25")
Singer 4452 Heavy Duty Sewing Machines (x4)
Embroidery machine (Baby Lock Ellisimo Gold)
Hand embroidery kits
Soldering equipment training required (Hakko FX-888D)

For more information, visit the Makerspace website at https://www.libs.uga.edu/science/makerspace.

¡BIENESTAR! Research Lab: Library Resources