Skip to Main Content
Main Library & McBay Science Library
Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library 7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk 7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab 7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office 8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk 9:00am – 10:00pm
View all Hours
All Library Hours
Search Borrow & Request Research & Teaching Support Services Libraries & Collections Study Spaces & Tech About Ask Us! Chat & More ☰

ENGL 1102 Fallis: Searching Tips

Boolean Searching

  • Allow a database search to be narrowed, broadened or made more precise.
  • There are three Boolean operators:  AND, OR, and NOT.
  • AND, OR, NOT are inserted between each search term.
AND
  • Used for narrowing or focusing a search topic. 
  • Specifies that both search terms must be present in the results. 

Example: Teenagers AND Violence

Two articles merging into one to demonstrate Boolean Operator And. You can search for articles on each aspect of your overall topic like teenagers or violence. But you can combine into one search by using AND. Teenagers AND Violence. The search results grow smaller as you use AND.

OR
  • Used for expanding or broadening a search topic. 
  • Specifies that either search term can be present in the results. 
  • Often used to include synonyms or related terms.

Example: Teenager OR Juvenile OR Adolescent

Search results merging to demonstrate Boolean Operator Or. You can search with words that are synonyms (juvenile, teenager, adolescent) individually or by combining them by place OR between each word. Juvenile OR Teenager OR Adolescent. Search results grower lower as you use OR.

NOT
  • Used to eliminate false hits, or get rid of that one term that you don't want in your results list. 
  • Specifies that the first term but not the second can be present in the results. 

Example: Teenagers NOT Violence. 

Truncation, Parentheses, and Wildcards

Parentheses
  • An alternative to a database's Advanced Search
  • Allows you to construct complex searches combining AND, OR, NOT by grouping search terms appropriately

Example:

 (Teenagers OR Juveniles) AND Violence

Truncation
  • Expands the search to locate all words beginning with the same root 
  • Symbol to truncate is usually an asterisk (*)
    • Example: teen* will return teen, teens, teenage, teenager, etc.
  • Useful to include any variants authors might use to describe their research
  • Not all words can effectively be truncated
    • Example: Trying to truncate woman as wom* will return wombat, womb, as well as woman and women. 
Wildcard
  • Used in the middle of a word to match usually known variants of a term.
  • A wildcard usually represents a single character
  • Symbol to represent the single character is usually a question mark (?) but this can vary by database. 
    • Example: wom?n will return woman, women, and womyn.

Note: These search tools involve using various symbols.  The symbols change depending on the database's vendor/interface you're dealing with, and the symbols may change over time within one of these vendors/interfaces.  If you have any questions about what symbols are used in a database, check its "Help" section.

Search Strategy Builder

Search Strategy Builder

The Search Strategy Builder is a tool designed to teach you how to create a search string using Boolean logic. While it is not a database and is not designed to input a search, you should be able to cut and paste the results into most databases' search boxes.

  Concept 1 and Concept 2 and Concept 3
Name your concepts here    
Search terms Search terms Search terms
List alternate terms for each concept.

These can be synonyms, or they can be specific examples of the concept.

Use single words, or "short phrases" in quotes

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

SSB created by University of Arizona Libraries and located at GitHub