The UGA Libraries offer access to many online databases that provide full-text articles from historical newspapers. In addition to the online resources listed below, a large collection of historical newspapers on microfilm is located in the basement of the UGA Main Library. To find newspapers available on microfilm at the UGA Libraries, search the Unified Newspaper Database or use the Find Journal by Title search tool.
GEORGIA — HISTORICAL NEWSPAPERS
Historical coverage of the following Georgia newspapers in downloadable PDF format is available through UGA Libraries database subscriptions:
Georgia Historic Newspapers
This online archive is a project of the Digital Library of Georgia that provides free access to digitized versions of historical GA newspapers. Based at the University of Georgia Libraries, the DLG has partnered with universities, archives, public libraries, historical societies, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions to digitize historical newspapers from around the state. The archive is free and open for public use and includes over one million Georgia newspaper pages between 1786 and 1986.
America's Historical Newspapers
Offers searchable full-text and page images of thousands of U.S. newspapers from all 50 states, documenting American history, culture, and daily life between 1690 and the 20th Century. Includes 22 publications from Georgia covering the years 1763-1925. Features the complete content of each issue, including news stories, illustrations, advertisements, obituaries, cartoons, and much more.
The Red and Black
An online archive of UGA's student newspaper covering the years 1893-2010. Provided by the Georgia Historic Newspapers archive.
Flagpole Magazine Archive
Flagpole, known as the "Colorbearer of Athens," is an independent, alternative weekly magazine that began publication in 1987 in Athens, GA. Flagpole covers news, politics, music, movies, arts and culture, food, community events, and more. This online archive provided by the Georgia Historic Newspapers archive covers the years 1987-2012.
UNITED STATES — HISTORICAL NEWSPAPERS
Historical coverage of the following U.S newspapers is available through UGA Libraries database subscriptions:
America's Historical Newspapers
Offers searchable full-text and page images of thousands of U.S. newspapers from all 50 states, documenting American history, culture, and daily life between 1690 and the 20th Century. Features the complete content of each issue, including news stories, illustrations, advertisements, obituaries, cartoons, and much more.
Accessible Archives
Full text historical collections including African American newspapers, Civil War newspapers, and assorted other historical newspapers from 18th and 19th century America.
Chronicling America
Search America's historic newspapers from 1777-1963. Chronicling America provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
AFRICAN AMERICAN HISTORICAL NEWSPAPERS
African-American Newspapers: the 19th Century
This enormous collection of African American Newspapers contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s as reflected in the African-American press. Starting with the Freedom's Journal in 1827 and continuing with The Colored American, The North Star, National Era, Provincial Freeman, The Frederick Douglass Paper, The Christian Recorder and other sources, this full-text database makes available important original source material, written by African Americans for African Americans. Part of the Accessible Archives collection.
African American Newspapers Series 1 & 2, 1827-1998
Online access to more than 350 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes historically significant papers from more than 35 states, features many rare 19th-century titles providing a one-of-a-kind record of African American history, culture, and daily life. As part of Readex's America’s Historical Newspapers site, the African American Newspapers collection was created from the most extensive African-American newspaper archives in the world.
Black Life in America
Documents the experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media, from 1704 to today. From Black-owned newspapers to mainstream publications, this primary source collection offers an expansive window into centuries of African American history, culture, and daily life — as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of African descent. Black Life in America features content from more than 19,000 U.S. and global news sources, including over 400 African American publications, providing comprehensive coverage of the African American experience from the early 18th century to the present day.
Historical Black Newspapers from ProQuest
Historical Black Newspapers is a digital archive containing full-text and full-image newspaper articles that provide researchers with unprecedented access to perspectives and information that was excluded or marginalized in mainstream sources. It offers essential primary source content and editorial perspectives of several of the most distinguished African American newspapers in the U.S. including:
NATIVE AMERICAN HISTORICAL NEWSPAPERS
American Indian Newspapers
Digital editions of 45 newspapers from the U.S. and Canada spanning 1828 to the present reveal how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities. American Indian Newspapers presents a diverse collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the U.S. and Canada, including national periodicals as well as local community news and student publications, along with bi-lingual and Indigenous-language editions, such as Hawaiian, Cherokee and Navajo languages.
