GALILEO@UGA Subject Guides: Public Policy: Books

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

All Library Hours

Finding the right books

UGA has 5 million books. Some of them are academic, and others are not. Here are some brief guidelines for identifying an academic book:

1) Written by an academic press (these are normally based at a University or College)

2) Written by a major publisher (such as Routledge, Sage, Palgrave, Macmillan)

3) Written by an academic, with qualifications you can check.

Search for books

Start at "Books and More" OR go to http://gilfind.uga.edu/

GIL-Find has many special features to help you find, save, cite and preview your search information.

Narrow results by library, format and location
Save books to a Favorites list (pin symbol)
Send results to a citation manager (EndNote, RefWorks, Mendeley)
If you don't use a citation manager, get a rough citation to cut and paste instead. (MLA, APA)

Some of these features are only available when you are logged into your library account. You will need your UGA MyID information to log in.

GALILEO Login

To use our GALILEO databases, e-journals, and e-books from off-campus and some UGA wireless networks, you'll be prompted to log in with your MyID and password. Your MyID is your UGAMail address minus the "@uga.edu."

Forgot your MyID and/or password?

Don't have a UGA MyID? Visit or contact Access Services to find out if you are eligible to have a library account created for you:

phone: 706.542.3256

email: maincirc@uga.edu

eBook Databases

eBook Collection EBSCOhost (formerly NetLibrary) This link opens in a new window
eBooks, general topics, non-fiction, reference, consumer. Adobe Digital Editions 1.7.1 or higher is required for offline viewing.
eBooks at EBSCOhost, formerly known as NetLibrary, provides access to electronic books (eBooks), including reference books, scholarly monographs, publications of many university presses, and consumer books that have been converted into digital format. It is possible to perform full-text searches of a single eBook, search thousands of volumes simultaneously, browse topic categories, or read eBooks directly online. There is currently no checkout period for eBooks (at EBSCOhost).

eBook Central This link opens in a new window
A collection of e-books, including reference books, scholarly books, consumer titles, and books from university presses.
ebrary provides access to electronic books (eBooks), including reference books, scholarly monographs, publications of many university presses, and consumer books that have been converted into digital format. It is possible to perform full-text searches of a single eBook, search thousands of volumes simultaneously, browse topic categories, or read eBooks directly online.