Skip to Main Content
Main Library & McBay Science Library
Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library 7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk 7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab 7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office 8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk 9:00am – 10:00pm
View all Hours
All Library Hours
Search Borrow & Request Research & Teaching Support Services Libraries & Collections Study Spaces & Tech About Ask Us! Chat & More ☰

Richard Hudson Library of Gay Literature and History Guide: Home

A guide to searching the Richard Hudson Library of Gay Literature and History. For all levels of knowledge and interest.

Collection Basics

The collection was donated by Richard Hudson, an Atlanta doctor practicing general medicine with an interest in serving underrepresented communities like the Deaf, blind, and Queer communities. He was also interested in collecting rare books and amassed a large collection throughout his life.

This collection contains correspondence, manuscripts, photographs, sheet music, screenplays, writing, and art produced by a wide array of gay writers, poets, musicians, and artists. It also includes printed material, artifacts and ephemera regarding LGBT subject matter.

Searching the Archives

1. Finding aids database (manuscript collections)

To search the manuscript collections, go to the SCL finding aids database. Use Ctrl + F (Windows) or Command + F (Mac) to search for keywords.

2. UGA Library GIL-Find (rare books)

To search the rare books in the collection, go to the UGA Library GIL-Find. From here you can further narrow your search. Use the check boxes on the left side of the screen to search by format, date range, location, and author/creator, OR use the advanced search at the top of the page to search for a specific title or author. I recommend using the check boxes if you're completely new to the collection and just want to browse the most common authors or kinds of books. However, if you've already done independent research on this topic and time period, using the advanced search to find a specific author or title might be more beneficial.

What's Next?

When you've found something you want to look at, create an SCL Research Account and request materials from the archives to browse. When you arrive at the building to look at your materials, head to the third floor Reference Desk.

Off-campus visitors may park in the Hull Street Deck and give their license plate number to the first floor front desk to avoid paying a parking fee. Make sure to give the front desk your number at the BEGINNING of your visit, not as you're leaving! Students and faculty cannot utilize the free parking and must pay the hourly rate. The Hull Street Deck is PERMIT ONLY M-Th 8am-2pm. From 2pm-5pm (and from 8am-5pm Friday), students and faculty can pay the hourly rate at the deck's 3rd floor machine or through the ParkMobile app. After 5pm (and all day on the weekends), the deck is free to park in for all vehicles.

SCL Visiting Hours:

Monday: 8am - 5pm
Tuesday: 8am - 7pm
Wednesday: 8am - 5pm
Thursday: 8am - 7pm
Friday: 8am - 5pm
Saturday: Closed
Sunday: Closed

The Reading Room and Reference Desk are closed daily from 12-1pm.

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Molly Hays
Contact:
molly.hays@uga.edu