Skip to Main Content
Main Library & McBay Science Library
Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library 7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk 7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab 7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office 8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk 9:00am – 10:00pm
View all Hours
All Library Hours
Search Borrow & Request Research & Teaching Support Services Libraries & Collections Study Spaces & Tech About Ask Us! Chat & More ☰

Richard Hudson Library of Gay Literature and History Guide: Outside Resources

A guide to searching the Richard Hudson Library of Gay Literature and History. For all levels of knowledge and interest.

Looking Outside the Hudson Collection

The Hudson collection is not the only collection at UGA dealing with Queer literature and history! Here are some links to other Queer research collections if you're interested in learning more. I have also included some links to outside resources related to some of the people/topics discussed in this collection if you're interested in learning more about them. UGA and GSU both have a lot of great resources that are available to USG students!

At UGA

Queer history and culture collection:

  • Materials documenting Queer lives, activism, art, and culture.

LGBT Resource Center records:

  • Papers regarding organization, official function, financial papers, newspaper clippings.
  • Papers of its student group Lamba Alliance's dealings preceding the formation of the official LGBT Resource Center.

Annette Hatton papers:

  • Papers relating to Annette Hatton and her work with the Lesbian Support Group in Athens, GA.

GLOBES (Gay, Lesbian Or Bisexual Employees and Supporters) Records:

  • Advertisements for Family and friends, correspondence, mixed media, photographs, posters and banners, and ephemera like beads and ribbons spanning early 1990s-2014.
  • Boxes from Annette Hatton's collection documenting the history of GLOBES.

Athens Queer Oral History Project:

  • Oral history project documenting modern Queer experiences in Athens, Georgia.

Athens PRIDE ephemera:

  • Ephemera gathered at Athens PRIDE like stickers, pins, informational pamphlets, flags, bracelets, etc.

At Other Institutions

Georgia Transgender Oral History Project (GSU):

  • An oral history project dedicated to gathering and preserving the history of transgender and gender diverse people/allies who live or have lived in Georgia.
  • Available on GSU's digital collections website; some interviews are fully transcribed and some are not.

LGBT Collection (GSU):

  • Digital access for various LGBT-oriented collections housed at GSU.

Manroot / Paul Mariah collection (University at Buffalo):

  • Houses editorial and business records of Manroot magazine, correspondence between Paul Mariah and other poets/activists, material from Mariah's personal and professional life, material collected from gay/prison/religious activist groups.
  • Not available online.

Alta and the History of Shameless Hussy Press, 1969-1989 (UC Santa Cruz):

  • Text + oral history of Alta and Shameless Hussy Press, produced by UC Santa Cruz.
  • AVAILABLE TO DOWNLOAD/VIEW FREE ONLINE.

Finding Aid for the Broomstick magazine records, 1972-2005 (UCLA):

  • Archive for Broomstick magazine, a feminist periodical by and for women over forty.
  • Not available online.