GALILEO@UGA Subject Guides: SOCI 3400: Environmental Sociology: Maps & Statistics

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

All Library Hours

Environmental Statistics

CDC Environmental Public Health Data Directory
Directory of environmental public health data sources from across the U.S. government
EPA Geospatial Tools
Directory of EPA geospatial web apps on neighborhood environmental issues, air quality, water quality, and waste management.
Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center
Maps and data sets on the intersection between humans and the environment. Recommended to browse by theme. SEDAC is a Data Center in NASA's Earth Observing System Data and Information System based at Columbia University.

Environmental Justice Mapping Tools

Environmental Justice Index (U.S. Centers for Disease Control - CDC)
This map ranks U.S. Census tracts based on the percentage of other census tracts that experience the same or lower levels of "cumulative impacts of environmental burden and injustice." Tracts have both an overall EJI ranking and individual rankings across environmental, social, and health indicators. An EJI ranking of 75% indicates that 75% of other census tracts experience less burden.

Click "Explore the Environmental Justice Index" to use the map tool. Use the search icon to hone in on a particular address or place.
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency EJScreen: Environmental Justice Screening and Mapping Tool
EJScreen, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's Environmental Justice Screening and Mapping Tool, maps environmental and socioeconomic indicators.

EPA recommends the map be used as a screening tool and encourage supplementing their data with further research and investigation of the local area. There is also more uncertainty about the data in small areas, like Census block groups, the smallest geographic unit in the map. Learn more about EJScreen
more...less...
EPA recommends this be used as a screening tool for potential environmental justice issues. They recommend supplementing their data with further research and investigation of the local area. There is also more uncertainty about the data in small areas, like Census block groups (the smallest geographic unit in the map).
U.S. Council on Environmental Quality Climate and Economic Justice Screening Tool
Maps indicators of social and environmental burdens across U.S. Census tracts. Examples of indicators include poverty, diesel particulate exposure, and projected flood risk.
Environmental Justice Atlas
The Environmental Justice Atlas maps "social conflict around environmental issues" around the world. Contributors include scholars, activists, and organizations. It is directed by researchers at the Institute of Environmental Science and Technology (ICTA) at the Universitat Autonoma de Barcelona.

International Statistics

ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Search for statistical reports and tables from U.S. federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations (i.e., UN)
Coverage ranges across many topics including demographics, income, production, trade, interest rates, economic indicators, energy, environmental protection, agriculture and fisheries, crime, medicine, and education.
Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistics portal that gathers data on more than 80,000 topics from a wide variety of sources. Includes market research, consumer and industry reports, and more.
A statistics portal that gathers data on more than 80,000 topics from a wide variety of sources. Includes market research, consumer and industry reports, and more. The Global Consumer Survey includes data sets for different countries, topics, and target groups.
Europa World This link opens in a new window
Detailed information about countries and international organizations worldwide.
The Europa World Online is an authoritative source of information about countries and organizations worldwide.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Full text access to OECD publications, 1998-present.
OECD iLibrary provides access to the full text of publications from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, a group of major developed countries. Covers all OECD books and periodicals published 1998-present. Contains extensive statistical data which can be downloaded into spreadsheets. The database is especially rich in annual economic surveys of member countries, industry reports, and statistical reports.

U.S. Statistics

Data.census.gov This link opens in a new window
Search portal for the most recent US Census Surveys, including the American Community Survey and the Decennial Census.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Data and mapping application that provides access to continuously updated data related to demographics, socio-economics, mortgages and home sales, health statistics, jobs and employment, education and more. Policy Map.
PolicyMap has more than 37,000 continuously updated data related to demographics, socio-economics, mortgages and home sales, health statistics, jobs and employment, education and more. Their GIS data is available for geographies across the U.S. often at neighborhood scale geographies such as Census tracts and block groups.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer provides easy access to demographic information about the United States, from 1790 to present. Users must create and log in with a personal account.
Social Explorer is a premier U.S. demographics website. Its online tools help users visually analyze and understand thedemography of the United States through the use of interactive maps and data reports. The primary product is a web-based application that creates fast, intuitive, and visually appealing maps and reports. Its software gives anyone with an Internet connection access to census data that was previously the domain of social science experts. Users must create and log in with a personal account.

Georgia Statistics

Georgia Data
Find Georgia county-by-county statistics put together by the Carl Vinson Institute of Government.

Georgia County Guide
Call Number: Main Reference/Science Reference F284 .G34
Contains county and state-level data on agriculture, crime, economics, education, government, health, housing, labor, natural resources, occupations, population, public assistance, transportation, and vital statistics.

Online Analytical Statistical Information System (OASIS)
Use OASIS to access the Georgia Department of Public Health's health data repository.

SOCI 3400: Environmental Sociology

Your Librarian

Chat with Library Staff

Environmental Statistics

Environmental Justice Mapping Tools

International Statistics

U.S. Statistics

Georgia Statistics

Crunch the Numbers