GALILEO@UGA Subject Guides: SOWK 7117: Generalist Social Work Practice with Communities & Organizations: Statistics

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

All Library Hours

International Statistics & Reports

ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Search for statistical reports and tables from U.S. federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations (i.e., UN)
Coverage ranges across many topics including demographics, income, production, trade, interest rates, economic indicators, energy, environmental protection, agriculture and fisheries, crime, medicine, and education.

Europa World This link opens in a new window
Detailed information about countries and international organizations worldwide.
The Europa World Online is an authoritative source of information about countries and organizations worldwide.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Full text access to OECD publications, 1998-present.
OECD iLibrary provides access to the full text of publications from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, a group of major developed countries. Covers all OECD books and periodicals published 1998-present. Contains extensive statistical data which can be downloaded into spreadsheets. The database is especially rich in annual economic surveys of member countries, industry reports, and statistical reports.

U.S. Statistics

ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Search for statistical reports and tables from U.S. federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations (i.e., UN)
Coverage ranges across many topics including demographics, income, production, trade, interest rates, economic indicators, energy, environmental protection, agriculture and fisheries, crime, medicine, and education.
Data.census.gov This link opens in a new window
Search portal for the most recent US Census Surveys, including the American Community Survey and the Decennial Census.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Data and mapping application that provides access to continuously updated data related to demographics, socio-economics, mortgages and home sales, health statistics, jobs and employment, education and more. Policy Map.
PolicyMap has more than 37,000 continuously updated data related to demographics, socio-economics, mortgages and home sales, health statistics, jobs and employment, education and more. Their GIS data is available for geographies across the U.S. often at neighborhood scale geographies such as Census tracts and block groups.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer provides easy access to demographic information about the United States, from 1790 to present. Users must create and log in with a personal account.
Social Explorer is a premier U.S. demographics website. Its online tools help users visually analyze and understand thedemography of the United States through the use of interactive maps and data reports. The primary product is a web-based application that creates fast, intuitive, and visually appealing maps and reports. Its software gives anyone with an Internet connection access to census data that was previously the domain of social science experts. Users must create and log in with a personal account.

CDC Social Vulnerability Index: County Maps
"CDC's Social Vulnerability Index uses 15 U.S. census variables at tract level to help local officials identify communities that may need support in preparing for hazards; or recovering from disaster."
more...less...
"Social vulnerability refers to the resilience of communities when confronted by external stresses on human health," such as disasters or disease outbreaks.

Georgia Statistics

Georgia Data
Find Georgia county-by-county statistics put together by the Carl Vinson Institute of Government.

Georgia County Guide
Call Number: Main Reference/Science Reference F284 .G34
Contains county and state-level data on agriculture, crime, economics, education, government, health, housing, labor, natural resources, occupations, population, public assistance, transportation, and vital statistics.

Online Analytical Statistical Information System (OASIS)
Use OASIS to access the Georgia Department of Public Health's health data repository.

Child Welfare

KIDS COUNT Data Center
Find comprehensive data on U.S. child and family well-being indicators. You can refine your results by state, county, city, school district, and more.
America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being
Read the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics' annual report featuring statistics on children and families in the United States about their family and social environments, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education and health.

Criminal Justice

Crime in the United States
FBI publication that includes statistics on violent and property crimes, people arrested, and case clearances. Data available at national, state, county agency, city agency, and university level.
Easy Access to FBI Arrest Statistics
Find arrest statistics by state and county for juveniles, adults, or both, by offense category. Not all locations are included. The application only presents statistics for states/counties with coverage indicators at or above 90%.

Health

National Institutes of Mental Health (NIMH) Statistics
Find statistics on mental health disorder prevalence, disability, costs, and suicide.
National Survey on Drug Use and Health (NSDUH)
Data on substance abuse and mental illness among the U.S. civilian, noninstitutionalized population over 12 years old. Data is collected by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration.
CDC FastStats
FastStats provides access to U.S. health statistics by topic (i.e., women's health, diabetes, and hospice care) and by state/territory.
Online Analytical Statistical Information System (OASIS)
Use OASIS to access the Georgia Department of Public Health's health data repository.
National Healthcare Quality & Disparities Reports
Read National Healthcare Quality & Disparities Reports. Find summary data at the national and state level. Create your own data query based on subject areas, topics, or measures.