Remember that the Libraries have copies of the APA 7th edition and two copies are in the CML.(Cur Mat BF76.7 .P83 2020) One does not circulate, and the other does. You really need a copy of your own for those 2:30 am questions...
Endnote & Refworks. These software packages allow you to create a database of citations that you're using in your research. In addition you can attach pdf copies of articles, make notes, and use it as a study guide. As you're writing your paper, insert citations into your paper and both of these packages will format your citation AND create your bibliography as you write. Caution: you do need to tweak your bibliography as neither software can read, so you need to watch for proper nouns and capitalization errors.
Purdue OWL Our friends in the Big Ten have created a very useful website aimed at APA users.
Do you need tips on avoiding plagiarism? Visit the UGA Libraries' Research Guide on Avoiding Plagiarism for helpful advice.
APA 7th now calls for REMOVING proxy info from your journal citations. What's a proxy link? It takes the reader to the database where the researcher found the article. Great idea, right? Well, not quite. The proxy link only works for the library to which the link is pointing. If you're not associated with that library, you can't open the link. So, rather than annoy 99% of the reading population, APA just requires the citation info, not the link. The proxy link will show up at the end of the citation in your bibliography and will usually start with http://proxy-remote....
DOI information remains the same as it has been!
So, how do you get rid of the proxy link? If you're using RefWorks follow these steps:
Open your article in RefWorks and click on the article title. A side panel will open Click on the pencil icon to edit Scroll through the citation & abstract to the VERY BOTTOM of the panel. Look for--
IS ELECTRONIC
- followed by a blue square with a white check mark
- followed by THIS IS AN ELECTRONIC RESOURCE
Click on the check mark and it will disappear SAVE in the TOP RIGHT
and for a "regular" bibliography use APA 7th - Sentence Casing, DOI: empty
To do this in EndNote, please follow the directions graciously provided by my colleague, Ian Thomas:
*Go to 'Edit - Output Styles - Edit APA'
*Then go to 'Bibliography - Field Substitutions' and uncheck the "If DOI field is empty..." box.
*Save the style and use that when writing your paper.
This will still include the DOI if it's available but remove the proxy URL's.
For an annotated bibliography use this option;
APA 7th - Sentence Casing, DOI: empty, Annotated
More APA Fun!
For detailed information on the wide variety of citation options consult the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th Edition.
Journal article with a DOI (p. 317)
Journal articles without a DOI, with a nondatabase URLJournal, magazine or newspaper article with a DOI, from most academic research databases or print version
Journal article with a DOI, 21 or more authors
Journal article with a DOI, combination of individual and group authors
Journal article with an article number or eLocator (p. 318)
Journal article, advance online publication
Journal article, in press
Journal article, published in another language
Journal article, published in translation
Journal article, reprinted from another source
Special section or special issue in a journal (p. 319)
Article from the Cochrane Databse of Systematic Reviews
Article from UpToDate database Magazine article (p. 320)
Newspaper article
Blog post
Comment on an online periodical article or post
Editiorial Books & Reference Works (p.321)
Authored book with a DOI
Authored book without a DOI (from most academic research databases or print version
For more variations, please see pages 321-337. Dissertations & Theses appear on page 333.
