Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FYOS1001: Inside the World of Fashion (Seock): Home

Dr. Yoo-Kyoung Seock, Fall 2021

Welcome!

This guide will introduce you to secondary resources to help you research for this FYOS. If you have questions or need research help, just ASK! You can either contact me or the general Reference Desk.

Additional LibGuides

Reference Books

Fashion, Costume, and Culture: Clothing, Headwear, Body Decorations, and Footwear Throughout the Ages  Main Library 1st floor Ref GT511 .P46 2004

Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion Main Library 1st floor Ref GT507 .E53 2005

Open Thread Newsletter

Open Thread, a NY Times Newsletter, is published every Friday afternoon. Vanessa Friedman, their chief fashion critic, delivers the latest news on what we wear. Subscribe here.

Article Databases

Art Databases

Business Databases

Image Collections

Ad*Access Project Images and information for more than 7,000 advertisements printed primarily in the United States from 1911 to 1955. (Duke University Libraries)

LA County Museum of Art Costume & Textiles: LACMA's online collection - Fashion 1900-2000 Located on the Pacific Rim, LACMA is the largest art museum in the western United States, with a collection of more than 147,000 objects that illuminate 6,000 years of artistic expression across the globe. Committed to showcasing a multitude of art histories, LACMA exhibits and interprets works of art from new and unexpected points of view that are informed by the region’s rich cultural heritage and diverse population. LACMA’s spirit of experimentation is reflected in its work with artists, technologists, and thought leaders as well as in its regional, national, and global partnerships to share collections and programs, create pioneering initiatives, and engage new audiences.

mptv: Home of Legends Photographs of screen legends and red carpet celebrities

Smithsonian Digital Collection of Textiles and Fabric The 50,000 objects in the textile collections fall into two main categories: raw fibers, yarns, and fabrics, and machines, tools, and other textile technology. Shawls, coverlets, samplers, laces, linens, synthetics, and other fabrics are part of the first group, along with the 400 quilts in the National Quilt Collection. Some of the Museum's most popular artifacts, such as the Star-Spangled Banner and the gowns of the first ladies, have an obvious textile connection. The machinery and tools include spinning wheels, sewing machines, thimbles, needlework tools, looms, and an invention that changed the course of American agriculture and society. A model of Eli Whitney's cotton gin, made by the inventor in the early 1800s, shows the workings of a machine that helped make cotton plantations profitable in the South and encouraged the spread of slavery.

VADS: Online Resource for Visual Arts  VADS provides a national collection of over 140,000 images from over 300 art and design collections across the UK, which are freely available for non-commercial use in education. The images cover the broad range of the visual arts including applied arts, architecture, design, fashion, fine art, and media. VADS is a service of the Library at the University for the Creative Arts (UCA). Various collections in VADS have images of clothing.

Vogue Vogue provides coverage of fashion, beauty, designers, collections, and video on Vogue.com

Historical Magazines

Vogue, 1913-present  Main Library 6th floor, TT500 .V888
Cosmopolitan 1886-1916, 1926-1952  Main Library 2nd floor, AP2 .C834
Glamour, 1953-present  Main Library 6th floor, TT500 .G5
Esquire, 1961-present  Main Library 2nd floor, AP2 .E64
Life, 1936-72, 1978-2000  Main Library 2nd floor, Folio AP2 .L722

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Sheila Devaney
she/her/hers
Contact:
Research & Instruction Department
Main Library

Online Office Hours
By appointment:
sdevaney@uga.edu
706-542-8708
Website