Skip to Main Content
Main Library & McBay Science Library
Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library 7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk 7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab 7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office 8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk 9:00am – 10:00pm
View all Hours
All Library Hours
Search Borrow & Request Research & Teaching Support Services Libraries & Collections Study Spaces & Tech About Ask Us! Chat & More ☰

HIST 3160 U.S. Environment (Drake, special collections): Step 2: Focus in on a Topic

Explore Your Options for Paper Topics

Review  information about U.S. environmental legislation using the following resources:

Choose one or two laws to explore further 

Look for secondary sources related to the legislation you choose

These links will take you to resources about Environmental History. Many of the Web resources contain both primary and secondary sources. Looking here is a great place to start if you are searching for or refining a paper topic. 

GALILEO : collection of over 400 research databases, including:

  • America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO) History and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Includes the Georgia Historical Quarterly 1955-present and seven other Georgia historical journals (dates vary).

  • Historical Abstracts  Index and abstracts to articles on world history 1450 to present (excluding U.S. and Canada).

  • JSTOR : core journals in many fields from their first issue (dating to the 1700s in some cases) to 3-5 years ago

Galileo Login information

Research the legislation

Once you have selected a piece of environmental legislation to explore, see what you can discover about the details of the legislation (who sponsored the legislation, how the language evolved). The following Galileo databases will be helpful for federal legislation: 

  • Legislative Insight (Proquest) (GALILEO).  Offers in-depth legislative histories of thousands of U.S. public laws.  Includes various versions of the enacted bill.  This is a work in progress--years and public laws covered are being updated continuously.
  • Proquest Congressional (GALILEO).  Provides multiple versions. Search in: Legislative Histories, Bills & Laws section
  • Georgia Legislative Documents state legislative documents 

*Remember to add this information to your research document!