Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ECHD 7920: School Counseling (Moore): Finding and WRITING Dissertations

FINDING Dissertations

Dissertations from UGA

Electronic Theses & Dissertations @ UGA--Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: University of Georgia Electronic Theses and Dissertations  (Find this database in GALILEO) -- Partial coverage 1999-.; full coverage Fall 2001-

This database provides access to Dissertations and Theses completed at the University of Georgia.
Note: Some authors restrict access to their electronic thesis or dissertation to on-campus users only for 5 years after graduation. If affiliated with UGA, view them on campus or through the vLAB service. A collection of the theses and dissertations submitted electronically to the Graduate School at the University of Georgia from the summer of 1999 onwards.

Earlier UGA dissertations may be found in the Libraries' catalog, GIL. (libs.uga.edu) Search by author, advisor(S), subject, title and more, just as you would search for a book.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses in GALILEO

DO NOT PAY FOR DISSERTATIONS UNTIL YOU HAVE TALKED WITH INTERLIBRARY LOAN. ILL CAN USUALLY BORROW THEM FOR FREE.
From the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses entry in the GALILEO list:--- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses covers dissertations accepted at accredited U.S. institutions since 1861. Approximately 47,000 new dissertations and 12,000 new theses are added to the database each year. It selectively covers masters theses, Canadian dissertations, British, and other international dissertations. Abstracts are included for dissertations beginning July 1980 and for masters theses beginning spring 1988. For dissertations done in 1997 and later, full text is PDF form of some titles is available.

  • You can search
    • by author (keep it simple: last name, first name unless it's a fairly common combination: John Smith)
    • by title (select Document Title-TI from the "in" drop-box)
      • You can also use the "AB--Abstract Option as the field you wish to search. This is especially helpful when searching for a topic.
    •  by university where the dissertation was completed. Use the "University/institution" option in the drop-box and then select the desired institution from the list.

Interlibrary Loan can usually borrow the dissertation in which you're interested. For FREE. So, unless you have a burning desire to own someone else's dissertation, don't add it to "your cart", but request to borrow it with the help of Interlibrary Loan. From the ILL page click on the link for the request form (right side of the page). Please provide our colleagues with as much information as possible.

  • You can find details about the dissertation by clicking on the "citation/abstract" link.
  • You may include the dissertation/theses number and/or the ProQuest Document ID in your Interlibrary Loan Request.

And now, How to WRITE a Dissertation

Looking for "how to" books on dissertation writing? Here's one search that may help:

In GIL-FIND  Advanced Search, search for

Any: dissertation OR "academic writing"  [next box down] AND any :"how to" OR write OR writing

  • AND or OR WITHIN THE SEARCH BOX  MUST BE CAPITALIZED
  • Keep terms you are willing to interchange in the same box and join them with OR (This is true for any database, not just here!)

You can re-sort the results by date or author or title.

With GIL-FIND you can easily send the results to your citation manager.