Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ECHD 7920: School Counseling (Moore): Some Databases to Search

Where to Look

How do you even FIND the databases? Go to the Libraries Homepage  and then to the right. You can start with the Subject Guides to get an overview on your subject area. You can also search alphabetically but it's probably easier to start with the subject guides.

In addition to looking at the major Education & Psychology databases,  ERIC, Education Research Complete & APA PsycInfo, consider your other options. Remember that you can search multiple databases simultaneously within database "families" (EBSCO & ProQuest. These are two of our major "families" of databases.).

Child Development & Adolescent Studies  and Child Welfare Information Gateway are two other good sources.

If you have a need for children's books , one excellent source is the Children's' Literature Comprehensive Database.   It's not full-text, but allows you to search for books by genre, title, author, age group, grade level, Lexiel level and more. A link from titles will search GIL for you.

GALILEO also offers many K-12 materials. Find these in the A-Z list of databases: Explora Primary for younger students and Explora for Middle & High SchoolThe ebook Collection at EBSCO  provides full-text books for children. EBSCO also has the K-8 book collection and EBSCO high school book collection. There's also an EBSCO Espanol.   Some of these are more easily accessible from within the EBSCO databases, such as ERIC. Find them from the "choose databases" link above the search box.

We are also fortunate to have access to Education Database (ProQuest), and two education-oriented newspapers, Education Week  (daily) and The Chronicle of Higher Education. The most recent month of the Chronicle is not available online. You should develop the habit of looking at Education Week , as it's aimed at professionals in the K-12 environment.

The DSM-5 (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) is the American Psychiatric Association's major guide to classifying and diagnosing mental disorders. The online database includes the full text of the current Manual as well as online assessment measures, DSM-V Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, and DSM-V Clinical Cases.

Educators' Reference Complete, a GALE publication offers full-text journals, magazines, images and more. Suitable for high school through professionals.

Films on Demand--Over 7,000 films for classroom use. They have a lot on psychiatry & psychology.

Medline and CINAHL  These are medically-oriented databases and are part of the EBSCO family.

Psychiatry Online is a collection of online information published by the American Psychiatric Association. It includes the DSM-5

ProQuest Psychology Journals provides abstracts and indexing for more than 650 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text.

 

Worldwide literature on mental-health consequences of exposure to traumatic events.

There are other resources available in the listing of databases under "P". Explore these options are well:

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses- Discover theses and dissertations from the US, the UK, Canada and a few other countries. The full-text is usually available and if it is not, DO NOT BUY A COPY! This is job for Interlibrary Loan.  This Library department will track down what you need and get it for you FOR FREE!

Some general databases to consider for a variety of topics include Academic Research Complete,  Web of Science is another good one for multiple subjects.

Web of Science. Find scholarly articles by author, topic or journal title in Web of Science. One of the best features of Web of Science is the display of the number of times a particular article has been cited, by whom and in what journal. This is an excellent way to discover seminal papers in your field. Search for authors by lastname firstinitial asterisk (ex. : Bergmann C*) without any additional punctuation. Use the asterisk in place of the middle name. Web of Science is only scholarly materials.

For topics relating to student athletes, consider the following: Medline, ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health, CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health), SPORTDiscus, Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine, and OregonPDF. Also, please consider the Kinesiology options from the drop-down menu in the "Articles & Databases>>by subject" tab.

For research on transgender students, the medically-oriented databases listed above will also apply as well as Family & Society Studies Worldwide, Social Services Abstracts  Family Studies Abstracts, LGBT Life, Sociological Abstracts and/or Sociological Collection, SocIndex Violence & Abuse Abstracts, & Women's Studies International

You'll find quality sources for student veterans in the Education & Psychology databases mentioned above as well as in PTSDpubs. (Mentioned above) This database focuses largely on the mental & physical health issues some veterans may have and is produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans' Affairs.

Looking for policy discussions? Consider  Political Science Complete,  Public Administration Abstracts, & Public Affairs Index. SREB is the Southern Regional Education Board database and may also have some policy recommendations.

Full-text, Straight from the Publishers

SpringerLink, Wiley Online Library & Science Direct.  These databases provide full-text coverage of books, book chapters and journal articles from these publishing firms and their subsidiaries. Coverage varies by database, but it's a handy way to get full-text information directly.

Don't Forget the Libraries' Catalog

With over 7 million titles in our collection, the Libraries are very likely to have what you need. To find books, here's a link that may help you.   You can also borrow books from other libraries in the University System of Georgia by clicking on the GIL Express link.  With GIL Express you can have books delivered to any USG library in the state and return to any USG library.