Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SPAN 3030: Introducción a los estudios literarios (Wright): Course Objectives (SPAN 3030 - Wright)

The class is designed to introduce some of the literary genres that have special significance for Hispanic culture.

SPAN 3030 (Wright) - Objectives

This guide is designed to help you identify key databases for research about the literary genres that have special significance for Hispanic culture.

At the end of the library session, students will be able to:

  • Identify appropriate databases and other sources of reliable information to complete the course assignments.
  • Learn about the different kinds of scholarly publications (monographs, journals, reference manuals, edited volumes, and bibliographies) and, in turn, how to critically assess their reliability and relevance.

SPAN 3030 (Wright) - Goals

Library orientation exercise - due 5:00 pm, October 9 (for Tuesday group) / 5:00 p.m., October 13 (for Thursday group):

  • Late papers will have one point deducted per business day.

Once you have your theme (see below for topics):

  • Look for 3 scholarly works (examples: a single-author monograph, an edited collection of articles, a scientific journal, an academic webpage);
  • Write 1-2 sentences about each work, explaining the relevance to your topic;
  • Each title must be cited using the MLA style, 8th edition.

 

Temas de crítica literaria

Temas de análisis del contexto cultural e histórico

La novela policiaca o detectivesca

El asesinato de honor (honor killing) circa 1950s—el caso de Emmett Till

La poética de la tragedia

La diáspora siria en América Latina, siglo XX

El realismo mágico

La costa caribeña de Colombia (el mundo de García Márquez)

La poesía lírica en América Latina, del Barroco a la Vanguardia

El periodismo de investigación en la trayectoria literaria de García Márquez

Cuestiones de género (sexual) en Crónica de una muerte anunciada

Colombia y/o el Caribe hispanohablante dentro de la diáspora africana

La historia de Colombia entre 1945 y 1960.

La costa caribeña de Colombia: perfil botánico, geográfico y/o sociocultural

El vallenato: perfil musicológico y socio-cultural (música típica de la costa caribeña de Colombia)

El arte colombiano en el siglo XX

La jurisprudencia relacionada con el homicidio: castigos, investigaciones, atenuantes y estrategias de defensa

Narratología

***********************

Final paper (minimum of 4 pages) on literary criticism of lyric poetry: Proposals and preliminary bibliography due November 13 (5:00 pm); final paper due November 24 (5:00 pm).

  • Late papers will have one point deducted per business day.

The proposal needs to include a list of 4 (four) sources with at least 1 (one) in Spanish, each with a comment about how it is relevant to the analysis.

There are some specific requirements for sources:

  • A minimum of 4; 1 must be in Spanish;
  • 1 source must be from a manual or encyclopedia related to the study of poetry or literary movements;
  • At least 2 of the sources must be peer reviewed;
  • 1 source must have been published within the last 5 years.

SPAN 3030 (Wright) - Style Guides

There are various styles for creating bibliographies and citing authors in your research papers. Basic information about some of the more popular styles can be seen from the Libraries' homepage. Click the "Services" tab on the top of the UGA Libraries Webpage, then look for "Citation Style Guides" under the "Research & Teaching" column on the left, including the MLA Handbook.

Copies of the 8th edition of the MLA Handbook are available at the Main, Science and Miller Learning Center Reference areas. There are also copies on the third floor of the Main Library (PN203 .G53 2016).

Your Librarian

Laura Shedenhelm's picture
Laura Shedenhelm
Contact:
Office Hours are by appointment - email me at:
shedenhe@uga.edu

Main Library, 6th floor, Collection Development suite