GALILEO@UGA Subject Guides: LLED/QUAL 8750: Qualitative Writing (Harman): Home

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

All Library Hours

Suggested Databases

BEST PLACES TO START

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts. Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts focuses on the nature and structure of human speech, research in speech sounds, sentence and word structure, meaning in language, spelling, phonetics and the pathology of speech, and hearing. This database provides bibliographic citations. Over 2600 journals from 50 nations are reviewed for inclusion, as well as selected books, book chapters, and dissertations.

Education Research Complete. Covers professional and scholarly journals in all areas of education from early childhood to adult education.

ERIC (at EBSCOhost) covers all aspects of education and educational research, includes both abstracts of published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics.

Other possible helpful databases:

Factiva This is the only place to find The Wall Street Journal. Other U.S. and foreign newspapers, magazines and trade journals. Company financials. Warning: Use of the files is restricted to purposes of research and education only. Other uses and excessive downloading are strictly prohibited. To search in other newspapers, please see our Newspapers Guide. .

Southern Regional Education Board (SREB) SREB was created in 1948 by Southern governors and legislators who recognized the link between education and economic vitality. SREB's Annual Meeting and Legislative Advisory Council meetings bring together legislators, agency heads and other policy-makers.

Annual Report of State Government Finances. Data from the Census Bureau. State Government Finances provides a comprehensive summary of annual survey findings for state governments. The tables and data files present a treasure trove of information.

Statistical Abstract of the United States. The Statistical Abstract of the United States Online compiles statistical tables from a wide array of federal, state, and local agencies; nonprofit and industry associations; and research organizations.

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.

Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database that provides full-text access to many peer-reviewed business related journals, including disciplines such as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.

EconLit, the American Economic Association's electronic database, includes citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1969.

Political Science Complete provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Dissertations and theses from academic institutions around the world, including UGA beginning with Fall 2019. Earlier UGA theses and dissertations are in the 'Electronic Theses & Dissertations' database.

APA PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. PsycArticles can be searched at the same time as PsycInfo.

MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCOHost) Index and abstracts of journal articles in the health sciences with links to full text.

Social Work Abstracts is a bibliographic citation database contains references on homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization and related topics.

SocIndex contains full text for 777 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 820 books and monographs, and full text for 13,947 conference papers.

Sociological Collection is a database with more than 475 full-text titles.

Urban Studies Abstracts covers essential areas related to urban studies.

Web of Science This database is all scholarly material and does lean heavily toward the sciences. Search for articles on your topic and see who is citing whom, with links to the materials cited in the original article and the citing articles.

Finding Books!

"Books & More" : GIL-Find Catalog

Search the UGA Libraries' collections of books, e-books, and more.

Login to your library account at "Sign In" on the top right of the opening page. Use your UGA credentials to log in. This will give you additional access to many services such as book pickup, chapter request, ILL, etc.
Enter your search terms in the search box.
Select University of Georgia or University System of Georgia as the catalog you wish to search. Use the drop box at the end of the search box (simple search) and select University System of Georgia to search state-wide holdings.
This is what the advanced search screen will look like:

Narrow your results by using the options on the left of the results page
Clicking on the title will give you additional information, including the author, publisher & date of publication, plus the call number and the library in which it can be found.
From "Get It" you can request delivery between libraries on the UGA campus or from within the State of Georgia. Click Request to activate this option. Use "Send to" to send your results to RefWorks/Endnote, create a permanent link, and more.

*Finding eBooks

After searching in gil-find catalog, go to the left hand side. Under Availability, select Full Access Online and under Format, select Book, then select the green Apply Filter button.

Books on Qualitative Research

You can search Books & More GIL-Find with the following terms "qualitative research" AND "education" to get a full listing. Below are some commonly used texts.

Qualitative Inquiry in Clinical and Educational Settings by Danica G. Hays; Anneliese A. Singh
Call Number: Main 5th floor ; H61 .H34 2012
ISBN: 9781609182458
Publication Date: 2011-07-21
This highly readable text demystifies the qualitative research process--and helps readers conceptualize their own studies--by organizing the different research paradigms and traditions into coherent clusters. Real-world examples and firsthand perspectives illustrate the research process; instructive exercises and activities build on each other so readers can develop their own proposals or reports as they work through the book. Provided are strategies for selecting a research topic, entering and exiting sites, and navigating the complexities of ethical issues and the researcher's role. Readers learn how to use a range of data collection methods--including observational strategies, interviewing, focus groups, e-mail and chat rooms, and arts-based media--and to manage, analyze, and report the resulting data. Useful pedagogical features include: *In-class and field activities to apply qualitative concepts. *Discussion questions, proposal development exercises, and reflexive journal activities. *Exemplary qualitative studies and two sample proposals. *Cautionary notes, or "Wild Cards," about possible research pitfalls. *Tables that summarize concepts and present helpful tips.
Interviewing As Qualitative Research by Irving Seidman
Call Number: Main 5th floor ; H61.28 .S45 2019 & eBook
ISBN: 9780807761489
Publication Date: 2019-05-30
This popular text, now in its fifth edition, provides step-by-step guidance for new and experienced researchers who want to use interviewing as a research method. This user-friendly guide explains the rationale for interviewing and the complexity of selecting interview participants, important interviewing techniques, and how to work with the results of interviews. Appropriate for individual and classroom use, this expanded edition includes: a revised assessment of the utility of Computer-Assisted Qualitative Data Analysis systems; contributions by Julie Simpson, the Director of Research Integrity Services at the University of New Hampshire, about preparing research for local Institutional Review Boards; and guidance for obtaining informed consent when using technology to interview, when interviewing abroad, and when hoping to include children as participants. Book Features: Principles and methods that can be adapted to a range of interviewing approaches. A clear and inviting presentation appropriate for both individual use and for classes. Ideas to help readers analyze and improve their own approach, as well as suggestions for group practice. An interviewing technique that stresses listening, with guidance for avoiding leading questions. Examples of doctorial students' research demonstrating that interviewing can deal with life and death issues, as well as everyday life. Updated references to help readers deepen their understanding of interviewing as qualitative research.
Evaluating Qualitative Research by Jeasik Cho
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780199330010
Publication Date: 2017-11-03
Qualitative researchers read journal articles, serve on masters' and doctoral committees, make careful decisions on whether conference proposals, manuscripts, or large-scale grant applications should be accepted or rejected; yet, best practices on how to do this work thoroughly and efficiently have gained little attention over the last few decades. Evaluating Qualitative Research provides expert insight and advice on how to evaluate the merit of qualitative research in the academic community. As one of the first works of literature to address this gap in the exploration of theory, practice, and reflection that comes with the evaluation of qualitative research, author Jeasik Cho constructs a typology of evaluation by examining actual information collected from a variety of websites and relevant journals. By analyzing a host of journals' established review guidelines and assessment apparatuses, Cho presents readers with the core criteria that stands out amongst these tools. As a result, readers will be able to confidently agree upon the standards for how to best evaluate qualitative research not only for their work but for the community at large.
The Blackwell Guide to Research Methods in Bilingualism and Multilingualism by Li Wei (Editor); Melissa G. Moyer (Editor)
Call Number: Main 3rd floor ; P115 .B575 2008 & eBook
ISBN: 9781405126076
Publication Date: 2008-06-03
As globalization has increased awareness of the extent of language contact and linguistic diversity, questions concerning bilingualism and multilingualism have taken on an increasing importance from both practical and scholarly points of view. Written by leading experts and practitioners in the field, The Blackwell Guide to Research Methods in Bilingualism and Multilingualism: Highlights the interdisciplinary nature of research on bilingualism and multilingualism and offers a practical guide to the procedures and tools for collecting and analyzing data Specifically addresses methodological issues, discussing research topics, core concepts and approaches, and the methods and techniques available Links theory to method, and to data, and answers a real need for a know-how volume on bilingualism and multilingualism that deals with its methodology in a systematic and coherent way
Qualitative Research by Sharan B. Merriam; Elizabeth J. Tisdell
Call Number: Main 2nd floor ; LB1028 .M396 2016 & eBook
ISBN: 9781119003618
Publication Date: 2015-08-24
The bestselling guide to qualitative research, updated and expanded Qualitative Research is the essential guide to understanding, designing, conducting, and presenting a qualitative research study. This fourth edition features new material covering mixed methods, action research, arts-based research, online data sources, and the latest in data analysis, including data analysis software packages as well as narrative and poetic analysis strategies. A new section offers multiple ways of presenting qualitative research findings. The reader-friendly, jargon-free style makes this book accessible to both novice and experienced researchers, emphasizing the role of a theoretical framework in designing a study while providing practical guidance. Qualitative research reaches beyond the what, where, and when of quantitative analysis to investigate the why and how behind human behavior and the reasons that govern such behavior, but this presents a number of significant challenges. This guide is an invaluable reference for students and practitioners alike, providing the deep understanding that this sometimes difficult area of research requires to produce accurate results. The book contains a step-by-step guide to analyzing qualitative data and an addendum for graduate students with a template for a thesis, dissertation, or grant application. Build a strong foundation in qualitative research theory and application Design and implement effective qualitative research studies Communicate findings more successfully with clear presentation Explore data sources, data analysis tools, and the different types of research

Your Librarians

Citation Management