Skip to Main Content
Main Library & McBay Science Library
Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library 7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk 7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab 7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office 8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk 9:00am – 10:00pm
View all Hours
All Library Hours
Search Borrow & Request Research & Teaching Support Services Libraries & Collections Study Spaces & Tech About Ask Us! Chat & More ☰

Environment and Design book displays FY22: Nov 21: GIS books

November exhibit

GIS Research Methods

GIS Research Methods: Incorporating Spatial Perspectives shows researchers how to incorporate spatial thinking and geographic information system (GIS) technology into research design and analysis. Topics include research design, digital data sources, volunteered geographic information, analysis using GIS, and how to link research results to policy and action. The concepts presented in GIS Research Methods can be applied to projects in a range of social and physical sciences by researchers using GIS for the first time and experienced practitioners looking for new and innovative research techniques.

Green Infrastructure

To conserve our natural assets--our green infrastructure--we need to map them, and plan for their protection. Every day, decisions about land development are made--often without consideration to the natural features and functions already there. The placement of housing on rich soil, paving over aquifer recharge zones, or disconnecting wildlife corridors are mistakes easily avoided if we start to consider our natural elements as part of our infrastructure. Green Infrastructure: Map and Plan the Natural World with GIS describes the why and how of green infrastructure (GI) mapping and implementation through text, maps, and online illustrations. It explains how to utilize the national model that Esri has built using Green Infrastructure Center's methodology. This six-step process provides a framework for thinking strategically about GI planning and details how to set goals to inform GI maps in order to meet real needs on the ground. Using actual data to create two case studies, this book shows how the Esri model and data from the Esri Living Atlas can be adapted using local data to create a custom GI plan. With a green infrastructure strategy, communities can work to preserve and connect open spaces, watersheds, wildlife habitats, parks, and other critical landscapes. Green Infrastructure: Map and Plan the Natural World with GIS explains how to protect and foster a connected, resilient, and biologically diverse landscape for sustainable growth.

The History of Geographic Information Systems

To understand the power of Geographical Information Systems and Geographical Positioning Systems today, it is essential to understand their background and history, and the needs they were designed to answer .

Managing Natural Resources with Gis

Find out how GIS technology helps people design solutions to such pressing problems as wild-fires, urban blights, agricultural yields, air and water quality, endangered species, disaster mitigation, resource location and extraction, coastline erosion, and public education.

Geographic Information Systems and Science

The first edition of Geographic Information Systems and Science has taken the GIS textbook market by storm, selling over 22,000 copies since publication. It is the most current, authoritative and comprehensive treatment of the field, that goes from fundamental principles to the big picture. GISS 2e builds on the success of the first edition: Completely revised with a new five part structure: Foundations; Principles; Techniques; Analysis; Management and Policy All new personality boxes of current GIS practitioners New chapters on Distributed GIS, Map Production, Geovisualization, Modeling, and Managing GIS Specific coverage of current hot topics: GIS and the New World Order Security, health and well-Being Digital differentiation in GIS consumption The core organizing role of GIS in geography The greening of GIS Grand challenges of GIS science Science and explanation A new suite of instructor resources including a companion website with an on-line lab resource and personal student sullabus and a cehensive Instructor's Manual that maps the textbook to various disciplines and levels of courses.

GIS for Landscape Architects

This guide features 10 real-world case studies demonstrating how GIS is used to prepare plans for a historic streetscape, create a site design for a major vacation resort, and visualize a proposed landfill, as well as many other practical applications.

Modeling Our World

Geographic data models are digital frameworks that describe the location and characteristics of things in the world around us. With a geographic information system, we can use these models as lenses to see, interpret, and analyze the infinite complexity of our natural and man-made environments. With the geodatabase, a new geographic data model introduced with ArcInfo 8, you can extend significantly the level of detail and range of accuracy with which you can model geographic reality in a database environment.

ESRI Map Book Vol. XIV

With Geographic Information System (GIS) software it is now possible to produce maps of a complexity, utility, and beauty beyond the vision and dreams of mapmakers only a few years ago. Here is a collection of the most impressive and innovative maps produced with this technology in the last year. A few examples of the maps that are included are: Storm Surge Locations for Hurricane Landfalls in Georgia; Virtual Reality Models of Lower Manhattan; Election Results in Russia; The Natural History of IceLand; and Common Snapping Turtle Telemetry Points in Wisconsin. Along with each map there is a description of the problem solved by the mapmaker, and the software, hardware, and data sources employed. This book is the most compelling demonstration of the range and analytical power of GIS mapmaking technology.

A to Z GIS

As GIS technology has evolved and grown, so has the language of this powerful tool. Written, developed, and reviewed by more than 150 subject-matter experts, A to Z GIS: An Illustrated Dictionary of Geographic Information Systems is packed with more than 1,800 terms, nearly 400 full-color illustrations, and seven encyclopedia-style appendix articles about annotation and labels, features, geometry, layers in ArcGIS, map projections and coordinate systems, remote sensing, and topology. A to Z GIS: An Illustrated Dictionary of Geographic Information Systems is a must-have resource for managers, programmers, users, writers, editors, and students discovering the interdisciplinary nature of GIS.

GIS in Public Policy

How government officials, educators, and social welfare experts can put GIS to use.

The ArcGIS Imagery Book

Explore how imagery and remote sensing power modern GIS. With The ArcGIS Imagery Book, you will roll up your sleeves and quickly begin putting imagery to smarter, more skillful use with your GIS. Even armchair geographers will appreciate this book and its electronic companion www.thearcgisimagerybook.com for the wealth of gorgeous, inspiring, and occasionally troubling images and links to powerful web apps and maps that weave interesting stories about our planet and the issues we face. Appropriate for those very familiar with geographic information systems and those who have never heard of the term.

Spatial Portals

Outlining the opportunities, developments, challenges, and issues that are impacting the geospatial industry, this guide discusses system design alterations, development, and management strategies for GIS professionals. Spatial portals and how they are revolutionizing the way people manage, find, share, and use geographic knowledge--from the local level to the world stage--are discussed. The manner in which spatial portals help people search for and access networks of relevant information held by local, state, and federal governments, and other organizations is also covered.

Lining up Data in ArcGIS

Lining Up Data in ArcGIS: A Guide to Map Projections is an easy-to-navigate, troubleshooting reference for any GIS user with the common problem of data misalignment. Complete with full-color maps and diagrams, this book presents techniques to identify data projections and create custom projections to align data. Formatted for practical use, each chapter can stand alone to address specific issues related to working with coordinate systems. Lining Up Data in ArcGIS: A Guide to Map Projections will benefit new and skilled GIS users alike.

10 Geographic Ideas That Changed the World

When geographic ideas change the world in our heads, the impact can be read on the ground and in our lives. In these thought-provoking, witty essays, some of America's most distinguished geographers explore ten geographic ideas that have literally changed the world and the way we think and act. They tackle ideas that impose shape on the world, ideas that mold our understanding of the natural environment, and ideas that establish relationships between people and places. Every one of these ideas has had--and continues to have--a deep effect on the way we understand the world and our place in it. A compelling introduction to the discipline of geography, this colleciton will change the way you look at both geography and the world! The contributors, who include several past presidents of the Association of American Geographers, members of the National Academy of Sciences, and authors of major works in the discipline, are: Elizabeth K. Burns, Patricia Gober, Anne Godlewska, Michael F. Goodchild, Susan Hanson, Robert W. Kates, John R. Mather, William B. Meyer, Mark Monmonier, Edward Relph, Edward J. Taaffe, and B. L. Turner, II.

The International Geodesign Collaboration

The world faces challenges that supersede and ignore national and regional boundaries and cannot be solved by a single individual, nation, science, or profession. Preparing for the outcomes of population growth and rising global temperatures requires multidisciplinary approaches and collaboration amoung all the stakeholders. Global social and environmental issues will increasingly become multiregional and multinational, and we therefore will need to plan in what should become one language. The language of geodesign. In The International Geodesign Collaboration: Changing Geography by Design, editors Thomas Fisher, Brian Orland, and Carl Steinitz introduce you to a geodesign approach that allows multiple disciplinary teams to collaborate and design at geographic scale using geographic information systems (GIS) and design tools to explore alternative future scenarios.  Learn The International Geodesign Collaboration workflow for addressing the complex global challenges when working on widely diverse, multidisciplinary projects. Explore the potential futures of 51 university project areas around the world. The International Geodesign Collaboration: Changing Geography by Design shows how researchers, scientists, designers, and students, can use geodesign principles to work together through analysis, technology, and collaboration.

About the summaries

Summaries attached to these titles have been supplied by the book's publisher, and should be considered advertisements (jacket blurbs), not objective reviews.