Skip to main content

Video, Audio & Images: Advertisements

Locating film, audio, and images

Advertisements

Off-campus use of these resources requires UGA login:

J. Walter Thompson: Advertising America 
This database makes available a large portion of the documents in the J. Walter Thompson archive including advertisements created by the staff of J. Walter Thompson, one the world’s oldest and biggest advertising agencies. The documents range from the late nineteenth century up until the late 1990s with the bulk representing the post-1945 world.

 

These resources are freely available to all users from any location:

Ad*Access 
Over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955 in the categories of Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda. Earlier ads can be found in the companion site Emergence of Advertising in America, 1850-1920.

AdViews: A Digital Archive of Vintage Television Commercials 
The AdViews digital collection provides access to thousands of historic television commercials created for clients or acquired by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency or its predecessor during the 1950s - 1980s.

Ad Council PSA archives
Browse or search classic and current public service announcements.

Adflip 
Well-known American print ads from 1940-2001. Full access to all ads requires payment, but a limited number are available for free.

Advertising Archives 
A selection of print ads from the mid-19th Century to the present day, mostly from the US and UK with some Spanish and French ads.

Outdoor Advertising Association of America Archives
More than 16,000 images of outdoor advertisements and other scenes from the Outdoor Advertising Association of America from the period 1885-1990s.

More print ads can be found in Historical Newspapers Online (off-campus use for UGA affiliates only) and by browsing the magazines section of Google Books where you can access advertisements printed in back issues of titles such as Life, Ebony, Jet, Popular Mechanics, etc.

Your Librarian

Eric Griffith's picture
Eric Griffith
Contact:
ecg@uga.edu