Off-campus use of these resources requires UGA login:
GENERAL COLLECTIONS
Academic Video Online (AVON)
Academic Video Online is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary video subscription that supports the entire range of curriculum, from anthropology to zoology. It includes a variety of video material including documentaries, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, interviews, and more.
Films on Demand
Offers streaming video for over 7,000 educational films in the arts & humanities, social sciences, business & economics, health & medicine, and science & mathematics as well as a collection of United Newsreels. Films are broken into segments for easy viewing.
Kanopy
Kanopy is a streaming video platform with high-quality feature films, documentaries, and educational films. A small portion of of Kanopy’s videos are available immediately to UGA Libraries’ users through one or three year leases. Other videos may be available upon request. If you select a film not already paid for and licensed by UGA, you will be directed to a brief request form where you can explain why you need the film. The Libraries will strive to meet requests for educational or research use within 24 hours M-F.
Alexander Street Films
Alexander Street Press is a publisher of award-winning online collections and videos for scholarly research, teaching, and learning. Alexander Street includes a variety of content types such as documentaries, films, clips, archives, news, TV programs, training, lectures, interviews, ethnographies, performances, and demonstrations. The collection represents content from more than 1,500 leading distributors, producers, filmmakers, and broadcast companies. Alexander Street makes it easy to include video as part of the curriculum, by providing users with synchronously scrolling transcripts, indexing, clip-making, custom playlists, social media functionality, and other tools.
Swank Digital Campus
Swank Digital Campus offers online streaming of a wide range of feature films, documentaries, television series, and foreign films for academic teaching and study, including popular films from major partners such as Sony, Disney, MGM, Paramount, Warner Brothers and more. Films are available for online streaming when requested by a UGA instructor for use in a UGA course. Because this service is maintained to support classroom instruction, the films available through Swank will vary from semester to semester. Films licensed through Swank can be viewed online for individual or course use only.
Docuseek2
Docuseek streams documentary, social-issue, and environmental films to colleges and universities, providing exclusive access to content from renowned leaders in documentary film distribution. Docuseek provides exclusive educational streaming access to content from Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, Kartemquin Films, MediaStorm, the National Film Board of Canada, Terra Nova Films, and other independent filmmakers. Only select titles are available to UGA-affiliated users. UGA instructors may request access to specific films from the Media Department.
PERFORMING ARTS
Digital Theatre Plus
Filmed stage productions of classical and contemporary plays. Includes over 500 HD-quality films of classical, contemporary, and international productions with a focus on British and US theatres. Theatres represented include RSC, BroadwayHD, Shakespeare's Globe, West End, Gecko Theatre, and more.
National Theatre Collection
Provides high-definition streaming video of productions from the U.K.'s National Theatre, as well as supplemental materials such as prompt scripts, costume designs, and costume bibles that offer behind-the-scenes background and contextual information.
Berliner Philharmoniker Digital Concert Hall
Streaming archive covering six decades including hundreds of performances by the Berliner Philharmoniker in high-def video and high-res audio. Also includes interviews, documentaries, and artist profiles. Individual registration is required.
Met Opera on Demand
Online streaming database provides video and/or audio access to over 600 full-length productions from New York۪'s Metropolitan Opera, including recent high-definition videos, telecasts from the 1970s-2000s, and radio broadcasts dating back to 1936.
Music Online: Classical Performance in Video
Over 2,000 streaming classical music performance videos including operas, concertos, symphonies, and other genres along with documentaries, interviews, music instruction videos, and more.
Dance Online: Dance in Video
Provides streaming videos covering the full scope of 20th and 21st century dance. The collection includes performances, documentaries, interviews, and instructional videos.
HISTORY
HistoryMakers Digital Archive
The HistoryMakers is the world's largest collection of African American first person video oral history testimony. By recording the stories of both the well-known and unsung from diverse backgrounds, The HistoryMakers seeks to preserve and elevate the cultural equity of the African American community, as well as to increase the cultural understanding of present and future generations.
Victorians on Film
Victorians on Film provides a glimpse into the lives of the late Victorians and Edwardians captured between 1895 and 1913 by some of Britain’s earliest film pioneers and innovators, providing an insight not only into the works of early filmmakers, but also the vibrancy and vigour of late Victorian culture and society.
Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies
The Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies contains the recorded testimonies of willing individuals with first-hand experience of the Nazi persecutions, including those who were in hiding, survivors, bystanders, resisters, and liberators. The Fortunoff Archive currently holds more than 4,400 testimonies, which are comprised of over 12,000 recorded hours of videotape. You must register for a personal account on the Aviary platform to access the collection. Please follow the registration instructions on the site.
Socialism on Film: The Cold War and International Propaganda
A collection of digitized documentaries, newsreels, and features that reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. The collection ranges from the early twentieth century to the 1980s and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.
SOCIAL SCIENCES
SAGE Research Methods
Sage Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. Includes instructional videos, tutorials, and video case studies by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, covering Business and Management, Marketing, Education, Public Health, and Sociology.
STEM
JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments)
JoVE is a leading producer of peer-reviewed science videos with the mission to improve STEM research and education. JoVE Research includes methods videos that support learning and replication of new experimental techniques, while JoVE Education videos introduce key concepts and fundamental techniques for instruction in classroom and lab settings.
Birds of the World
Guide to the birds of the world including descriptions, geographic distribution information, systematic information, habitats, behavior, and more. There are images, sound files, and video clips associated with most birds in the database.
Psychotherapy Video Library
Contains over 300 videos for learning and improving psychotherapy and counseling skills. Videos can be selected by type of therapy, therapeutic issue, population group, or expert clinician.
These resources are freely available to all users from any location:
Digital Library of Georgia
The Digital Library of Georgia provides access to key information resources on Georgia history, culture, and life for researchers, scholars, students, and the general public. The DLG contains over 15,000 streaming video clips. On the left menu, click "Type" and then select "Moving Image" and then add keywords to search for videos on whatever topic you would like to find.
Digital Public Library of America
DPLA has a growing collection of moving images, mostly historical documentary and news footage, from libraries across the U.S. including UGA's Brown Media Archives (for more about other collections in the Brown Media Archives, see next section below). After doing a keyword search for your topic, you can "refine your search" to find moving images.
Civil Rights Digital Library
The Civil Rights Digital Library provides educational content on the struggle for racial equality in the 1950s and 1960s. It includes a digital video archive of historical news film allowing learners to be nearly eyewitnesses to key events of the Civil Rights Movement.
The National Screening Room
A project of the Library of Congress National Audio-Visual Conservation Center, the National Screening Room is a digital collection that provides free access to hundreds of hours of motion pictures and showcases the riches of the Library’s vast moving image collection. The films range from fiction and non-fiction to home movies and social life and customs to newsreels and actualities, covering a period of more than a hundred years, from 1890-1999.
Smithsonian Collections
Search over 16 million records of museum objects, archives, and library materials including more than 6 million online images, videos, and audio recordings.
The Great Depression Interviews
Featuring over 150 oral history interviews, the Great Depression Interviews tell the dramatic and diverse stories of struggle and survival during the worst economic crisis in U.S. history.
Millennium Stage Broadcasts
As part of the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, the Millennium Stage is a free performance series that aims to make the performing arts accessible to everyone. It features a broad spectrum of national and international performing arts companies, from dance and jazz, to chamber music and folk, comedy, storytelling and theater.
EUscreen
The EUscreen portal offers free online access to thousands of clips and programmes selected by broadcasters and archives from all across Europe. It brings together clips that provide an insight into the social, cultural, political and economic events that have shaped the 20th and 21st centuries.
British Pathé
Newsreels from 1896-1976 including footage from the UK and worldwide on major events, people, culture, sport, and trends with extensive coverage of the First and Second World Wars.
AdViews: A Digital Archive of Vintage Television Commercials
The AdViews digital collection provides access to thousands of historic television commercials created for clients or acquired by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency or its predecessor during the 1950s - 1980s.
Internet Archive: Moving Image Archive
Contains over 4 million videos ranging from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts, and more.
