Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Theatre: Articles & Reviews

Finding Journals

When you already have the complete reference to an article (title, author, journal title, date), search the journal title in GIL Find to see if UGA owns it online or in hard copy.

Can't get it at UGA? See your options for getting the article from another library.

Finding Articles & Reviews

Scholarly Articles

Multi-Search: A combined search of GIL and about 90 GALILEO databases including the International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance, the MLA International Bibliography, and several newspapers and popular magazines databases. This guide includes instructions on setting up personal alerts from Multi-Search for new journal issues, articles on a topic, or articles by an author.

   If Multi-Search brings back too many results, try searching these databases separately:

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance, 1984-present: Includes journal articles and book chapters on drama, dance, media, mime, mixed entertainment, storytelling, music-drama, and puppetry.

MLA International Bibliography, 1926-present: The major source for locating scholarly articles and book chapters in literature, drama, and film. The MLA DIrectory of Periodicals is also searchable through this database.

Academic Search Complete: The main database for mainstream magazines as well as major scholarly journals in all subjects.

IEEE XPlore Digital Library, 2005-present: Journal articles and conference proceedings in engineering; a good source for resources on lighting design and digital theatre.

JSTOR: A collection of full-text scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. By going to the database itself instead of Multi-Search, you can search through the full-text of the article. Coverage begins with the journal's first issue, and JSTOR's "rolling wall" means the past 3-5 years are usually not available.

Newspapers

Global Newsstream: Global coverage of newspapers and newswires from the U.S.and around the world.

Access World News: Good coverage of U.S. local and regional newspapers.

Historical Research:

New York Times Historical Full Text, 1856-2009: Searchable full scans of the newspaper; excellent for book reviews, interviews with authors, and primary accounts of historical events. UGA also has similar databases for the Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984), Christian Science Monitor (1908-99), Wall Street Journal (1889-1995), and Washington Post (1877-1996). Search all five at once in Historical Newspapers Online.

Other historic Georgia newspapers have been digitized by the Digital Library of Georgia.

Times Digital Archive, 1785-2011: Searchable full scans of the London Times.

American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900: Full text of over 1,100 American magazines and journals.

American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection, 1691-1877: Full text of over 6,500 American journals.

Reader's Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982: The major index to mainsteam magazines in the U.S. during the 20th century.

Periodicals Index Online, 1770-1991: Our most comprehensive index to British periodicals; includes some U.S. periodicals as well.

19th-Century Masterfile (Poole's Plus): Another index to British and American periodicals with a focus on popular magazines through 1930.

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Kristin Nielsen
she/her/hers
Contact:
Main Library Research & Instruction Department
knielsen@uga.edu
706-542-0654

Chat with a Librarian