GALILEO@UGA Subject Guides: SOCI 3280/3290: Gender: Find Sources

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

All Library Hours

Sociology Databases

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts to articles in sociology.
SocINDEX with Full Text features more than 2,066,400 records with subject headings from a 19,750+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 777 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 820 books and monographs, and full text for 13,947 conference papers.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts to articles in sociology.
Sociological Abstracts is a primary resource for accessing research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. International in scope, over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations are covered. Records added after 1974 contain nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
Included in the database is the searchable Thesaurus of Sociological Indexing Terms.
Social Science Citation Index (at Web of Knowledge) This link opens in a new window
Major index to articles in the social sciences.
Social Sciences Citation Index is a subset of Web of Science within Web of Knowledge. Web of Science also includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Book Citation Index, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. These databases may be searched separately, in any combination, or all at once.
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Sage Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process.
Sage Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher.

Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Databases

GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly and popular journals and other publications on gender in cultural, social, and historical context.
Gender Watch focuses on the impact of gender on women's lives. It provides coverage on the family, childbirth, birth control, daycare, domestic abuse, work and workplace issues, sexual harassment, aging, body image, eating disorders, and social and societal roles. It also includes resources on the impact of gender on the arts, popular culture and media, business and work, crime and criminology, education, scholarship, health care and medicine, politics, religion, sex roles, sexuality, and sports.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly and some popular press articles, book chapters and more on women's studies, feminist scholarship, and sexuality.
Women's Studies International includes bibliographic records drawn from women's studies databases including: Women Studies Abstracts; Women's Studies Database; New Books on Women & Feminism; WAVE: Women's Audiovisuals in English: A Guide to Nonprint Resources in Women's Studies; Women, Race, & Ethnicity: A Bibliography; The History of Women and Science, Health, and Technology: A Bibliographic Guide to the Professions and the Disciplines; POPLINE Subset on Women; Women of Color and Southern Women: A Bibliography of Social Science Research; Women's Health and Development: An Annotated Bibliography.
The database is produced with data licensed from: Rush Publishing, Inc.; Guillaume Data Services, Inc.; University of Wisconsin, Madison; Judith P. Zimmerman; University of Memphis, the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), and the World Health Organization.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Indexes popular and scholarly literature on lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues.
LGBTQ+ Source provides comprehensive coverage of academic, cultural, lifestyle, and regional publications. This database contains indexing and abstracts for LGBTQ core periodicals and more than 330 LGBTQ core books and reference works, as well as the full text of 120 journals and 140 books.

Streaming Video

Kanopy
Streaming video collection with a focus on documentary, indie, and foreign films.
Films on Demand
Offers streaming video for over 7,000 educational films in the arts & humanities, social sciences, business & economics, health & medicine, and science & mathematics as well as a collection of United Newsreels. Films are broken into segments for easy viewing.
Digital Library of Georgia
The Digital Library of Georgia provides access to key information resources on Georgia history, culture, and life for researchers, scholars, students, and the general public. The DLG contains over 15,000 streaming video clips. On the left menu, click "Type" and then select "Moving Image" and then add keywords to search for videos on whatever topic you would like to find.
Digital Public Library of America
DPLA has a growing collection of moving images, mostly historical documentary, from libraries across the U.S. including UGA's Brown Media Archives. For more about other collections in the Brown Media Archives, see below.
Civil Rights Digital Library
The Civil Rights Digital Library provides educational content on the struggle for racial equality in the 1950s and 1960s. It includes a digital video archive of historical news film allowing learners to be nearly eyewitnesses to key events of the Civil Rights Movement.

Your Librarian

Sandra Riggs

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

MLC 373 office (706) 542-6233

Use the button above for the Schedule Appointment Form. Use the blue bookmark symbol below for the Outlook version.

Subjects: Psychology

ASA Style Handout

ASA Style (Purdue OWL)
Discusses formatting and citation rules for American Sociological Association (ASA) style
Quick Tips for ASA Style (from the American Sociological Association)
Printable handout of the basics of American Sociological Association (ASA) style