Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ScholarWorksUGA: Institutional Repository

This guide provides information about ScholarWorksUGA, The University of Georgia's Institutional Repository.

About ScholarWorksUGA

Mission 

ScholarWorksUGA showcases and preserves scholarly, creative, and other works unique to the UGA community. The UGA Libraries manage ScholarWorksUGA and are a partner in the state-wide GALILEO Knowledge Repository. 

Content 

ScholarWorksUGA collects unique scholarly content produced by the University of Georgia community. Our current collection includes UGA theses and dissertations dating back to 1999 and a growing collection of research papers from campus institutes and departments. ScholarWorksUGA accommodates both born-digital materials and items that have been converted to digital, including text, images, audio, video, 3D data, and will add other formats as they become relevant in the future.

We invite submissions for the following types of scholarly and creative works, to name a few, by the UGA campus community into ScholarWorksUGA: 

  • Peer-reviewed publications (journal articles or book chapters) 
  • Research materials 
  • Curriculum materials (course syllabi, multimedia instruction, etc.) 
  • Conference papers 
  • Research posters 
  • Music scores 
  • Performances 
  • Capstone projects 

If you have any questions about what works are appropriate for deposit in ScholarWorksUGA please contact Mary Willoughby at athenaeum-help@mail.libs.uga.edu. 

Roles and Responsibilities 

ScholarWorksUGA accepts, stores, and provides access to materials in compliance with U.S. Copyright Law, Title 17 United States Code, and other laws governing privacy and intellectual property. 

To deposit their works in ScholarWorksUGA, contributors must be members of the UGA academic community and grant the University a nonexclusive, perpetual license to accept their work, archive it in whatever current or future format determined to be appropriate, and display the work on a royalty-free basis. 

Depositing work in ScholarWorksUGA requires that the author consent to the  ScholarWorksUGA Author Deposit Agreement.  Anyone depositing work in ScholarWorksUGA affirms that they have the right to deposit a digital copy of the work, and that making the work available through  ScholarWorksUGA does not violate any other party's intellectual property, privacy, or other proprietary right. Prior to making a deposit, it is recommended that contributors consult the Intellectual Property Policy of the University of Georgia per the Office of the Vice President for Research. It is also highly recommended that contributors learn about their rights and responsibilities with third parties such as funding agencies and publishers before submitting their works in ScholarWorksUGA. A University of Georgia faculty or student author submitting their work into  ScholarWorksUGA retains copyright in that Work, in accordance with University of Georgia Intellectual Property Policy (https://research.uga.edu/documents/intellectual-property/) 

For additional information and consultation about author rights, please contact Mariann Samuel, Head of Science Collections and Scholarly Communication, at mariann@uga.edu. 

Access 

ScholarWorksUGA is intended to serve as permanent archive of submitted material in Open Access format, except those theses and dissertations under embargo with permission from The Graduate School. Works in ScholarWorksUGA will be made openly accessible via the Internet. 

Removal of Content 

Authors should refer requests to remove materials from ScholarWorksUGA to Mary Willoughby at athenaeum-help@mail.libs.uga.edu. The exception is electronic theses and dissertations governed by agreements and policies administered by the Graduate School.