Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Background & Bibliographies
Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference works are a great place to start for background and can help you:
- understand the basics of your topic, in clear nontechnical language.
- identify useful keywords that you can use to search for articles or books.
- find the titles of scholarly books and articles on your topic (look in the bibliography).
Encyclopedia of Barbarian Europe by
Call Number: 1st floor, Main Reference D135 .F73 2003
Publication Date: 2003-05-23
Covering nearly 1,000 years of history--from the late ancient period through the first centuries of the Middle Ages--this concise but thorough reference work examines the key figures, places, events, and ideas of barbarian Europe.
The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages by
Call Number: Main 1st floor Reference D114 .O94 2010
Publication Date: 2010-07-29
Essential reference work covering all aspects of European history, society, and culture from AD 500 to 1500.
Handbook of Medieval Culture (3 vols.) by
Call Number: Ebook Online
Publication Date: 2015-08-31
This 3-volume handbook offers compact articles on essential topics, ideals, specific knowledge, and concepts defining the medieval world as comprehensively as possible.
Encyclopedia of the Early Church by
Call Number: Main 6th floor Folio BR66.5 .D5813 1991
Publication Date: 1992-02-20
2-volume encyclopedia covers topics in archaeology, philosophy, linguistics, history, theology, and geography to about 750 CE. Special attention is given to the relationship between Christianity and the pagan world.
Articles & Books
Search 130+ GALILEO databases, the GIL@UGA Libraries Catalog and the Digital Library of Georgia for full-text articles, books and much more in a single streamlined search
- GILFind Catalog of what the UGA Libraries own and where we keep it.
- GIL Express: Catalog of libraries across the University System of Georgia; click "Request" to get a book from another library.
- WorldCat: A global catalog of library collections. Find materials in libraries in your community or around the world.
- Google Books and HathiTrust Digitized print collections from a number of major university libraries. Both are useful for mining the contents of books on library shelves. Most of the books from the 20th-21st century are still in copyright and can only be viewed in snippets online. You can still often view tables of contents and introductions as well as search for keywords within the book. Once you've identified a book you can use, search GIL-Find to see if UGA owns it.