Qualitative Research: Data Analysis

This book tackles the challenges of how to make sense of qualitative data. It offers students and researchers a hands-on guide to the practicalities of coding, comparing data, and using computer-assisted qualitative data analysis. Lastly, Gibbs shows you how to bring it all together, so you can see the steps of qualitative analysis, understand the central place of coding, ensure analytic quality and write effectively to present your results.

Critical Theory and Qualitative Data Analysis in Education offers a path-breaking explanation of how critical theories can be used within the analysis of qualitative data to inform research processes, such as data collection, analysis, and interpretation. This contributed volume offers examples of qualitative data analysis techniques and exemplars of empirical studies that employ critical theory concepts in data analysis.

Critical Theory and Qualitative Data Analysis in Education offers a path-breaking explanation of how critical theories can be used within the analysis of qualitative data to inform research processes, such as data collection, analysis, and interpretation. This contributed volume offers examples of qualitative data analysis techniques and exemplars of empirical studies that employ critical theory concepts in data analysis. By creating a clear and accessible bridge between data analysis and critical social theories, this book helps scholars and researchers effectively translate their research designs and findings to multiple audiences for more equitable outcomes and disruption of historical and contemporary inequality.

This unique text provides a broad introduction to qualitative analysis together with concrete demonstrations and comparisons of five major approaches. Leading scholars apply their respective analytic lenses to a narrative account and interview featuring "Teresa," a young opera singer who experienced a career-changing illness. The resulting analyses vividly exemplify what each approach looks like in action. The researchers then probe the similarities and differences among their approaches; their distinctive purposes and strengths; the role, style, and subjectivity of the individual researcher; and the scientific and ethical complexities of conducting qualitative research.

Winner of the 2020 Anselm Strauss Award for Qualitative Family Research, National Council on Family Relations. How is qualitative data actually collected, analyzed, and accomplished? Real stories of How Qualitative Data Analysis Occurs: Moving Beyond "Themes Emerged" offers an in-depth look into how qualitative social science researchers studying family issues and dynamics approach their data analyses. It moves beyond the usual vague statement of "themes emerged from the data" to show readers how researchers actively and consciously arrive at their themes and conclusions, revealing the complexity and time involved in making sense of thousands of pages of interview data, multiple data sources, and diverse types of data.

This is the perfect book for any student new to qualitative research. In this exciting and major updating of his bestselling, benchmark text, David Silverman walks the reader through the basics of gathering and analysing qualitative data. David Silverman offers beginners unrivalled hands-on guidance necessary to get the best out of a research methods course or an undergraduate research project.

Modes of Thinking for Qualitative Data Analysis argues for engagement with the conceptual underpinnings of five prominent analytical strategies used by qualitative researchers. Melissa Freeman describes the core characteristics of each analytical strategy or mode of thinking in relation to its aim and action and then illustrates each using examples from a range of disciplines. Providing these modes of thinking in one text contributes to a deeper understanding of their distinct theoretical and methodological contributions to research as well as the potential and challenge of combining them. Experienced qualitative researchers, novices, and graduate students from many disciplines will gain new insight from the theory-practice relationship of analysis advanced.

Modes of Thinking for Qualitative Data Analysis argues for engagement with the conceptual underpinnings of five prominent analytical strategies used by qualitative researchers: Categorical Thinking, Narrative Thinking, Dialectical Thinking, Poetical Thinking, and Diagrammatical Thinking. By presenting such disparate modes of research in the space of a single text, Freeman not only draws attention to the distinct methodological and theoretical contributions of each, she also establishes a platform for choosing among particular research strategies by virtue of their strengths and limitations.

In this fully updated and expanded second edition, Carol Grbich provides a guide through current issues in the analysis of qualitative data. Packed with detailed examples, a glossary, further reading lists and a section on writing up, this book is exactly what you need to get you started in qualitative research. The new edition covers analytical approaches including: - grounded theory - classical, existential and hermeneutic phenomenology - feminist research including memory work - classical, auto- and cyberethnography as well as ethnodrama - content, narrative, conversation and discourse analysis - visual interpretation - semiotic, structural and poststructural analyses A one-stop-shop for students new to qualitative data analysis!

Miles, Huberman, and Saldaña's Qualitative Data Analysis: A Methods Sourcebook is the authoritative text for analyzing and displaying qualitative research data. The Fourth Edition maintains the analytic rigor of previous editions while showcasing a variety of new visual display models for qualitative inquiry. Graphics are added to the now-classic matrix and network illustrations of the original co-authors. Five chapters have been substantially revised, and the appendix's annotated bibliography includes new titles in research methods.

The Third Edition of Miles & Huberman′s classic research methods text is updated and streamlined by Johnny Saldaña, author of The Coding Manual for Qualitative Researchers. Several of the data display strategies from previous editions are now presented in re-envisioned and reorganized formats to enhance reader accessibility and comprehension.

Are you new to qualitative research? Are you planning to do interviews or focus groups and wondering what on earth you′ll do with the data once it′s collected? Do you have a pile of transcripts staring at you right now and are you lost as to how to identify themes, code your data and work out what it all means?   Fear not, help is here! In this brilliant new book, Jamie Harding breaks down the process of analysing qualitative data into simple, retraceable steps.

In this important new text, Paul Sullivan introduces readers to a qualitative methodology rooted in the analysis of dialogue and subjectivity: the dialogical approach. Sullivan unpacks the theory behind a dialogical approach to qualitative research, and relates issues of philosophy and methodology to the practical process of actually doing qualitative research.

A Step-by-Step Guide to Qualitative Data Codingis a comprehensive qualitative data analysis guide. It is designed to help readers to systematically analyze qualitative data in a transparent and consistent manner, thus promoting the credibility of their findings. The book examines the art of coding data, categorizing codes, and synthesizing categories and themes.

This book includes a selection of the articles accepted for presentation and discussion at the second International Symposium on Qualitative Research (ISQR2017), held in Salamanca, Spain, July 12-14, 2017. ISQR2017 is part of the Iberian-American Congress on Qualitative Research (CIAIQ), and featured four main application fields (Education, Health, Social Sciences, and Engineering and Technology) and seven main subjects: Rationale and Paradigms of Qualitative Research; Systematization of approaches with Qualitative Studies; Qualitative and Mixed Methods Research; Data Analysis Types; Innovative Processes of Qualitative Data Analysis; Qualitative Research in Web Contexts; Qualitative Analysis with the Support of Specific Software.

Software is cut and dried - every button you press has a predictable effect - but qualitative analysis is open ended and unfolds in unpredictable ways. This contradiction is best resolved by separating analytic strategies - what you plan to do - from software tactics - how you plan to do it. Expert NVivo users have unconsciously learned to do this.

Software is cut and dried - every button you press has a predictable effect - but qualitative analysis is open ended and unfolds in unpredictable ways. This contradiction is best resolved by separating analytic strategies - what you plan to do - from software tactics - how you plan to do it. Expert NVivo users have unconsciously learned to do this. The Five-Level QDA® method unpacks the process so that you can learn it consciously and efficiently.

The authors use their depth of experience designing and updating Dedoose®, as well as their published research, to give readers practical strategies for using the program from a wide range of research studies. Case study contributions by outside researchers provide readers with rich examples of how to use Dedoose® in practical, applied social science, and health settings.

Now updated to cover latest versions and featuring instructions for both Mac and Windows users, this book is still the go-to source of support for getting to grips with qualitative data analysis using ATLAS.ti.

Engaging and accessible, this book offers students a complete guide to using NVivo for qualitative data analysis. Drawing on their wealth of expertise, the authors offer detailed, practical advice that relates to students' own experience and research projects. Packed with real-world examples and case studies, the book supports students through every stage of qualitative data analysis.

This is Book 5 of 7 in the Ethnographer's Toolkit, Second Edition. Treating analysis as both a mechanical and a cognitive process,

Data analysis is often the most difficult task facing students and novice qualitative researchers, including Shane the Lone Ethnographer--a grad student with fond visions of the Wild West--and her horse Transcriptor. In this comic-style textbook, we follow Shane as she attempts to corral her data and make sense of it for publication. Shane learns how to read, sort, code, write, and assess the analysis of a qualitative study in the traditions of ethnography, grounded theory, discourse, and narrative analysis.

Intersectional Analysis as a Method to Analyze Popular Culture: Clarity in the Matrix explores how race, class, gender, sexuality, and other social categories are represented in, and constructed by, some of the most significant popular culture artifacts in contemporary Western culture. Through readings of racialized television sitcoms, LGBTQ+ representation in mainstream American music, the role of Black Panther in Western imperialist projects, and self-love narratives promoted by social media influencers, it demonstrates how novice and emerging researchers can use intersectional theory as an analysis method in the field of cultural studies.

Wordcraft: Applied Qualitative Data Analysis: Tools for Public and Voluntary Social Services is a practical text that helps students and social service personnel better evaluate agency programmes through the use of various qualitative documents which most agencies currently have readily available. In order to fully evaluate an agency programme, qualitative and quantitative methods should be considered. Agencies have a wealth of data in narrative and textual format which also must be evaluated in order to gain a complete picture of the agency′s performance.