Databases & Subject Guides: Plant Biology: GALILEO Databases

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

All Library Hours

Best Bets

AGRICOLA
Index to publications on all aspects of agriculture and agricultural research.
AGRICOLA contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library and covers every major agricultural subject. The citations consist of journal articles, book chapters, monographs, theses, conference proceedings, serials, technical reports, patents, software, and other materials on a broad range of agricultural topics.
PLANTS Database
Information about plants from the USDA.
The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
PubAg
USDA and other agricultural research. More recent than Agricola.
PubAg is a portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research. At launch, it delivers over 40,000 full-text journal articles by USDA staff and includes nearly 450,000 citation. Core topics including nutrition, food safety, food quality, animal and crop production and protection, natural resources, sustainable agricultural systems, rural development, agricultural economic and policy issues, agricultural imports and exports, agricultural statistics, extramural research, and extension education. Some overlap with Agricola.
SciFinder-n
Online database which combines the Chemical Abstracts, Medline, and the CAS Registry database. Create a personal account for access.
Note: To use SciFinder Scholar you must CREATE AN ACCOUNT using an on-campus computer, campus wifi, or authenticate from off-campus

Note: To use SciFinder Scholar you must CREATE AN ACCOUNT using an on-campus computer, campus wifi, vLab, or the VPN.

All Databases for Plant Biology

ACS Symposium Series
American Chemical Society Symposium Series titles from 2012 in full text.
AGRICOLA
Index to publications on all aspects of agriculture and agricultural research.
AGRICOLA contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library and covers every major agricultural subject. The citations consist of journal articles, book chapters, monographs, theses, conference proceedings, serials, technical reports, patents, software, and other materials on a broad range of agricultural topics.
CAB Abstracts & CAB Archive
Index to research on agriculture, forestry and allied life sciences.
CAB Abstracts & CAB Archive provide bibliographic citations in the fields of agriculture, forestry and their allied life science disciplines. Specific topics include animal and crop husbandry, animal and plant breeding, plant protection, genetics, forestry engineering, economics, veterinary medicine, human nutrition, travel and rural development.

*This resource is available for 8 users at a time. If you are unable to access it, please try again in 10-15 minutes*
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Full Text (formerly Dissertation Abstracts)
Dissertations and theses from academic institutions around the world, including UGA beginning with Fall 2019. Earlier UGA theses and dissertations are in the 'Electronic Theses & Dissertations' database.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Full Text provides full text access to about 1.9 million dissertations and theses granted by academic institutions worldwide. All subject areas are covered. Basic information for a smaller number of dissertations and theses that are not available in full text is also included in this database.
PubAg
USDA and other agricultural research. More recent than Agricola.
PubAg is a portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research. At launch, it delivers over 40,000 full-text journal articles by USDA staff and includes nearly 450,000 citation. Core topics including nutrition, food safety, food quality, animal and crop production and protection, natural resources, sustainable agricultural systems, rural development, agricultural economic and policy issues, agricultural imports and exports, agricultural statistics, extramural research, and extension education. Some overlap with Agricola.
RepBase
RepBase is a database of prototypic sequences representing repetitive DNA from different eukaryotic species
Repbase is a comprehensive database of repetitive elements from diverse eukaryotic organisms. Currently, it contains over 3600 annotated sequences representing different families and subfamilies of repeats, many of which are unreported anywhere else. Repbase is being used in genome sequencing projects worldwide as a reference collection for masking and annotation of repetitive DNA (e.g. by RepeatMasker or CENSOR).
ScienceDirect
Articles from scholarly journals on all the sciences, including the social sciences.
ScienceDirect provides full text access to scholarly journals published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries.
SciFinder-n
Online database which combines the Chemical Abstracts, Medline, and the CAS Registry database. Create a personal account for access.
Note: To use SciFinder Scholar you must CREATE AN ACCOUNT using an on-campus computer, campus wifi, or authenticate from off-campus
Web of Science (Web of Knowledge)
Web of Science provides access to the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Book Citation Index, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. These databases may be searched separately, in any combination, or all at once.
These databases are unique in that the user can search to find which articles have cited a certain author or article. This technique of doing research, called pearl growing, allows researchers to find articles that are related to an earlier work. Often this technique turns up articles which are not found through traditional subject and keyword searches.

*WoS API Key: See "Web of Science Expanded API" entry in Database A-Z List.*

Your Librarian

Plant Biology: GALILEO Databases

Best Bets

All Databases for Plant Biology

GIF

Your Librarian

Chat with Library Staff