Exercise 1 Answers
Search Terms Used: Stravinsky Rite of Spring
1a. What is the 'Uniform Title' for The Rite of Spring by Stravinsky? Vesna svi︠a︡shchennai︠a︡.
1.b Are there any other title spellings that may be used for a search either in the catalog or other online databases? Sacre du printemps
Looking at other the title and contents fields you will also notice that the piece is often known by the French title Sacre du printemps. Again, more than one these titles may need to be used to locate scores, recordings, books and articles relating to this piece of music.
potential titles to search: "rite of spring" OR Vesna svi︠a︡shchennai︠a︡ OR "sacre du printemps"
| Search Terms |
Results |
Although 'sacre de printemps' is not the Uniform Title, it is useful to add it to the search as the piece is often referred to by this French title.
When looking at databases other than the Library Catalog you may find this piece using the English, Russian or French title as the official title. You should begin with the terms you know and then closely examine individual records to see if there are subject or title terms you should use
|
| stravinsky AND "rite of spring" |
468 |
| stravinsky AND ("rite of spring" OR "Vesna svi︠a︡shchennai︠a︡") |
503 |
| stravinsky AND ("rite of spring" OR "Vesna svi︠a︡shchennai︠a︡" OR "sacre du printemps") |
612 |
Exercise 2 Answer
Search Terms Used: schubert trout quintet
2. What is the 'Uniform Title' for Schubert's Trout Quintet? Quintets, piano, violin, viola, cello, double bass, D. 667, A major.
Other titles which are not the 'Uniform Title' that are used for this piece of music are Trout Quintet and Piano quintet in A major, op. 114.
NOTE: Many classical compositions have a common name such as Trout Quintet, Moonlight Sonata (Beethoven / Sonatas, piano, no. 14, op. 27, no. 2, C♯ minor), Jupiter Symphony (Mozart / Symphonies, K. 551, C major ; Mozart / Symphony no. 41 in C Major), etc. As always, be aware of and use the various titles when searching the catalog and other online resources.
Exercise 3 Answer
Search Terms Used: debussy clair de lune
3a. What is the 'Uniform Title' for Debussy's Clair de lune? (give the specific uniform title which includes the terms 'clair de lune'). Suite bergamasque. Clair de lune.
3b. What does the period in the middle of the full uniform title tell you? The period after Suite bergamasque indicates that Clair de lune the is only a movement. Suite Bergamasque is the title of the complete music work, and Clair de lune is one section or movement from that complete work.
Since Clair de lune is a very popular piece, it has been arranged for various instruments or instrument combinations. If you see the work 'Arranged' also included in the uniform title you will know it is not for piano which was the instrument for which the piece was composed.
NOTE: Debussy wrote other pieces which included the title Clair de Lune. Debussy also wrote a piano piece titled La terrasse des audiences du clair de lune which which is included in Preludes, piano, book 2. This is NOT the piece Clair de lune but this work will come up in your search since it matches your keywords. Debussy also composed a song set which includes a piece called Clair de lune. The uniform title for that vocal piece is Fêtes galantes, 1. recueil. Clair de lune. Many of the words or numbers used in a music title are not extremely unique and there may be a number of your results which are not actually the piece your a searching for.
Exercise 4 Answer
Search Terms Used: debussy clair de lune
4. What is a Collective Uniform title you may see for scores and/or sound recordings which include the popular piano piece Clair de lune?
Piano music. Selections. A common collection uniform title on many score and sound recordings as there are many collections of Debussy's piano music.
Piano music. could be another collective uniform titles might be would be used for the complete piano music of Debussy.
With collection titles you will want to look at the Includes fields and the Contents field to see a more detailed listing of the pieces in the score or the sound recording.
