GALILEO@UGA Subject Guides: Online Maps: Georgia

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

All Library Hours

UGA Map and Government Information Library

General

Georgia Government Publications This link opens in a new window
Database containing publications of agencies within the Georgia state government, covering years 1994 to the present. Includes maps published by various state agencies
The Georgia Government Publications database makes available over 30,000 public documents of agencies within the Georgia state government. Coverage encompasses audit reports, budget documents, monographs, newsletters, periodicals and serials from agencies including agriculture, arts, community affairs, courts, education, human resources, industry and trade, labor, legislature, natural resources and recreation. The database contains documents published from 1994 to the present.

Map and Government Information Library Map Collection
Collection includes maps dating back to the mid-19th century, with an emphasis on Georgia cities and counties; some types of maps included are rural delivery routes, highways, topographic, and soil.

Agriculture/Forestry

FSA - Georgia
Information about the USDA Farm Service Agency in Georgia
Georgia Department of Natural Resources
Maps and other resources from the Georgia DNR
USDA-NRCS Georgia
Provides information on the conservation of natural resources including programs to help address environmental concerns, news releases and information on upcoming events, office locations, and other information of interest to Georgia residents and partners

Historical

County Maps - Georgia Archives
Maps of Georgia counties from 1866-1935.
District Plats of Survey - Georgia Archives
Original surveys of land districts in counties made prior to distribution of land by lottery, 1805-1833, plus resurveys or renewed surveys of districts.
Georgia Archives
Identifies and preserves Georgia's most valuable historical documents; includes Georgia's official land and cartographic records
Georgia Historical Society
Georgia's historical society, one of the oldest cultural institutions in the state
Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library - Historical Maps
The Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library at the University of Georgia maintains a collection of more than 1000 historic maps spanning nearly 500 years, from the sixteenth century through the early twentieth century, including historical maps of Georgia
Headright and Bounty Plats of Survey, 1783-1909 - Georgia Archives
Original plats of survey for headright and bounty land plats
Historic Maps - Georgia Archives
Maps collected by the Office of Surveyor General focusing on Georgia dating from the 1740s.
GNAHRGIS: Georgia's Natural, Archaeological, and Historic Resources GIS
An interactive Web-based registry and geographical information system designed to catalog information about the natural, archaeological, and historic resources of Georgia.
Sanborn® Fire Insurance Maps for Georgia Towns and Cities from 1884 - 1941
Originally designed for fire insurance assessment, these large-scale, color-coded maps of U.S. cities and towns show the location and use of buildings, as well as the materials employed in their construction. The maps also indicate which city utilities - such as water and fire service - were available. This collection includes all maps determined to be in the public domain.

Land Use

BLLIP: Building, Land & Lease Inventory of Property (State of Georgia)
An interactive web-based geographical information system designed to enable registered users to query, search and generate reports using real time information about State owned and leased properties and buildings
Georgia Tax Assessors
One-stop portal to assessment, tax, parcel and GIS data for Georgia countie

Citing maps and atlases

Cartographic Citations:
a Style Guide, 2nd ed.

Shelved in:
Map and Government Information Library - Reference
GA108.7
.C55
2010

Style guides for citing maps, atlases and related resources in all formats.

Online Maps: Georgia

UGA Map and Government Information Library

General

Campus

Agriculture/Forestry

Census

Geography/Geology

Historical

Land Use

Recreation

Citing maps and atlases