Databases & Subject Guides: Map Reference Resources: Gazetteers

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

All Library Hours

UGA Map and Government Information Library

Gazetteers

A gazetteer is a dictionary or index of geographic names, coordinates and other features that allows users to identify and locate specific places. In addition to the online gazetteers listed below, the Map and Government Information Library has a large collection of paper gazetteers; please contact a staff member for further information.

Canada Geographical Names Search
Names on official, federal government maps authorized through the Geographical Names Board of Canada (GNBC).
Gazetteer of British Place Names
Provides an exhaustive Place Name Index to Great Britain, containing over 50,000 entries; lists the historic county and the main administrative areas in which each place lies.
GeoNet Names Server (National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency)
Covers foreign countries and regions outside the U.S. Official repository of standard spellings of all foreign place names, sanctioned by the U.S. Board on Geographic Names; also contains variant spellings.
Georgia Place-Names
Written by Kenneth K. Krakow, the 3rd edition of Georgia Place-Names provides the history and origins of cities, towns and other places in the State of Georgia.
Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names Online
One of the Getty vocabulary databases produced and maintained by the Getty Vocabulary Program.
U.S. Board on Geographic Names
Covers the United States and its territories.