Critical Discourse Analysis “...stems from a critical theory of language which sees the use of language as a form of social practice. All social practices are tied to specific historical contexts and are the means by which existing social relations are reproduced or contested and different interests are served. It is the questions pertaining to interests that relate discourse to relations of power. How is the text positioned or positioning? Whose interests are served by this positioning? Whose interests are negated? What are the consequences of this positioning? Where analysis seeks to understand how discourse is implicated in relations of power it is called critical discourse analysis.” (Janks 2006)
Hilary Janks (1997) Critical Discourse Analysis as a Research Tool, Discourse: Studies in the Cultural Politics of Education, 18:3, 329-342, DOI: 10.1080/0159630970180302
Resources for theory and methodologies
Books & eBooks
Discourse Analysis of Languaging and Literacy Events in Educational Settings
by
David Bloome; Stephanie Power-Carter; W. Douglas Baker; Maria Lucia Castanheira; Minjeong Kim; Lindsey W. Rowe
This book provides a comprehensive introduction to the use of microethnographic discourse analysis for researching, theorizing, and reconceptualizing the uses of language and literacy in educational settings. The authors apply an ethnographic perspective to discourse analysis to emphasize how teachers and students use spoken and written language to construct knowledge, opportunities for learning, and social relationships. The authors demonstrate how microethnographic discourse analysis at different levels of scale can provide deeper understandings into the nuanced, complex social interactions and relationships that exist in and across educational contexts, including meaning-making, literacy practices, power relations, and the social construction of personhood. Each chapter offers philosophically and theoretically grounded principles for using microethnographic discourse analysis and example cases that reflect the principles presented. Ideal for researchers, teacher educators, and teachers, this essential text on discourse analysis, languaging, and literacy provides a grounding to further examine critical questions challenging educators.
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781000547726
Publication Date: 2022-03-30
How to Do Critical Discourse Analysis
by
David Machin; Andrea Mayr
"How great to have this practical introduction to doing critical discourse analysis, especially one that provides examples of multimodal discourse analysis. Extremely useful for students who need tools for the study of text, talk and images."- Teun van Dijk, Pompeu Fabra University"The authors have truly achieved the impossible: to make extremely complex phenomena accessible for students and scholars alike. Thus, this textbook will provide a most helpful guide when looking for adequate ways to grasp and analyze the intricate interdependence of written, oral and visual forms of semiosis."- Ruth Wodak, Lancaster UniversityHow do media texts manipulate and persuade us? How do language and images play out the ideas, values and identities?This book shows readers exactly how language, power and ideology are negotiated in media texts, from magazine and advertising, to YouTube and music videos. Presenting a systematic toolkit of theories, concepts and techniques for doing language and image analysis, students learn how to dig deep into discourses and the media landscape. With case studies and examples from a range of traditional and new media content, the book equips students to understand the relationship between language, discourse and social practices.
Call Number: Main 3rd floor ; P302 .M33 2012
ISBN: 9780857028914
Publication Date: 2012-04-05
Methods of Critical Discourse Analysis
by
Ruth Wodak (Editor); Michael Meyer (Editor)
A new edition of this book is available This book is designed as an introduction to Critical Discourse Analysis (CDA) and gives an overview of the various theories and methods associated with this sociolinguistic approach. It also introduces the reader to the leading figures in CDA and the methods to which they are most closely related. The text aims to provide a comprehensive description of the individual methods, an understanding of the theories to which methods refer and a comparative treatment of each of these methods so that students may be able to determine which is the most appropriate to select for their particular research question. Given the balance between theory and application, plus the intended audience - no previous knowledge of CDA is assumed - Methods of Critical Discourse Analysis should be useful reading for both students and researchers in the fields of linguistics, sociology, social psychology and the social sciences in general.
Methods for Critical Discourse Analysis
by
Ruth Wodak (Editor); Michael Meyer (Editor)
Methods of Critical Discourse Analysis provides a concise, comprehensible and thoroughly up-to-date introduction to CDA, appropriate for both novice and experienced researchers. This new edition has been updated throughout, with a new introduction contextualizing the development of the CDA approach, and two entirely new chapters on the ′social actor approach′ to CDA and the use of quantitative corpus linguistic methods. The editors have brought together contributions from leading experts in the field, who each introduce their own approaches to CDA. Examples are included throughout, demonstrating the value of the method in analyzing a variety of genres of written material on a whole range of topics, including global warming, leadership in management, and globalization. This book will be of great interest to students and researchers in linguistics, sociology and psychology interested in interdisciplinary approaches to coping with topical social problems.
Call Number: Main 3rd floor ; P302 .M3948 2009
ISBN: 1847874541
Publication Date: 2009-04-01
Critical Discourse Analysis
by
Terry Locke
This introductory text explains the use of critical discourse analysis (CDA) as a research methodology. Beginning with an explanation of the key words and theories behind CDA and how these can be used in research, Terry Locke proceeds to provide a lucid demonstration of the application of these series to both interpretation of print text and the analysis of conversations. The book is an essential guide for students encountering critical discourse analysis for the first time.
Discourse and Practice
by
Theo van Leeuwen
Adding a new introduction and two previously unpublished papers, Discourse and Practice: New Tools for Critical Discourse Analysis brings together Van Leeuwen's methodological work on discourse analysis of the last 15 years. Discourse, Van Leeuwen argues, is a resource for representation, a knowledge about some aspect of reality which can be drawn upon when that aspect of reality has to be represented, a framework for making sense of things. And they are plural. There can be different discourses, different ways of making sense of the same aspect of reality that serve different interests and will therefore be used in different social contexts. However abstract some discourses are, discourses ultimately always represent doings, Van Leeuwen argues. Doing is the foundation of knowing, and social practices are the foundation of discourses. Studying children's books, newspaper reports, brochures and other texts, as well as photographs and children's toys, Van Leeuwen investigates what can happen when practices are transformed into discourses and provides analytical tools for reconstructing discourses from texts. Throughout the book, Van Leeuwen makes connections between sociological and linguistic or semiotic concepts and methods to ensure the social and critical relevance of his analytical categories. Van Leeuwen's work has already been widely used by critical discourse analysts across the world. This volume will be a welcome guide for anyone looking for a form of discourse analysis that is both explicit and methodical, and critically incisive.
Full listing from UGA Libraries catalog of books related to Critical Discourse Analysis can be found here.
Journal Articles
Mullet, D. R. (2018). A General Critical Discourse Analysis Framework for Educational Research. Journal of Advanced Academics, 29(2), 116-142. https://doi.org/10.1177/1932202X18758260
Desrochers, M. & Murray, J. (2021). Applying Critical Discourse Analysis in the Classroom: A Guide for Educators. Current Issues in Comparative Education, 23(2).https://doi.org/10.52214/cice.v23i2.8486
Resources for finding research
Below is a listing of library databases that can be helpful in finding published journal articles, and can also provide access to literature such as conference proceedings, and dissertations. Some are more general in scope while others are more focused by discipline. All of the below can be searched together on the EBSCOHost platform.
Educational Resources Information Center. Index and abstracts of articles, books, and documents covering education research and practice.
ERIC (at EBSCOhost) covers all aspects of education and educational research, includes both abstracts of published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics. It corresponds to the printed indexes of RIE (Resources in Education) and CIJE (Current Index to Journals in Education). This database is produced by the Office of Educational Research and Improvement (OERI), U.S. Department of Education. The EBSCOhost version of the ERIC database includes the searchable Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors. The EBSCOhost version of ERIC is updated quarterly; to see citations of articles and documents added since the last update (but not the full text) go to Department of Education's ERIC web site.
Find popular and scholarly articles on communication and mass media studies, including some full text.
Communication & Mass Media Complete is an index to literature relating to communication and mass media studies, including some full text. The database is the result of the merging of two popular databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies - CommSearch, formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA), and Mass Media Articles Index, formerly produced by Penn State University. In addition to the content of these two databases, CMMC offers full text for over 160 major communication and mass media journals that were not previously covered by CommSearch or Mass Media Articles Index. In total, more than 285 journals will be indexed and abstracted in their entirety in CMMI, while approximately 100 more journals will be indexed selectively.
SocINDEX with Full Text features more than 2,066,400 records with subject headings from a 19,750+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 777 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 820 books and monographs, and full text for 13,947 conference papers.
The major index for articles, books, chapters, dissertations, and reports in psychology. The American Psychological Association offers a YouTube playlist on using PsycINFO via EBSCOHost.
PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. Some articles are available in full text. Journal coverage includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals from nearly 50 countries. The historic portion of the database comes from from three sources: Psychological Abstracts (1927-1966), Psychological Bulletin (1921-1926), and all journals published by the American Psychological Association plus the American Journal of Psychology from the first issue of volume 1, number 1 in November 1887.
Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987-present. Over 60,000 references are added annually.
Articles from some peer-reviewed journals as well as monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and other sources.
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals.
Common keywords to use for finding research that uses Critical Discourse Analysis
Common Terms
Broader
Related
Critical Discourse Analysis
Discourse Analysis (typically used in Education databases)
For example, if we were looking for studies that have looked at CDA within secondary education our search string might look like this:
("critical discourse analysis" OR "critical discourse studies" OR "discourse analysis") AND ("secondary education" OR "high schools" OR "high school students")
Journals
You might find some of the following journals helpful for finding research studies. These two have a broad scope that focuses on using Critical Discourse Analysis.
Critical Discourse Studies - Critical Discourse Studiesis an interdisciplinary journal for the social sciences. Its primary aim is to publish critical research that advances our understanding of how discourse figures in social processes, social structures, and social change.
Critical Approaches to Discourse Analysis Across Disciplines Journal (CADAAD) - CADAAD Journalfocusses on discourse, communication and society. It aims to provide a space for studies that cross boundaries between academic disciplines. CADAAD Journal focuses on the study of social and political practices that are ultimately performed discursively through ‘texts’. Fully open access.
