It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
LAND6911 - Ecology of Athens: Home
Welcome to the UGA Libraries!
Contact me first with questions or to set up a research appointment.
Walk up help at the Art, Main and Science Libraries and on the 3rd floor of the Miller Learning Center (SLC).
Your GIL Account- Log on to GIL to renew books online, check the status of GILExpress requests, and get the off campus password for the article databases. If you can't get in to your account, call Access Services at (706) 542-3256.
WorldCat Dissertations and Theses includes all dissertations, theses and published material based on theses cataloged by OCLC members, including all subjects. Links to openly available electronic copies are provided when available. There are currently over 5 million records for dissertations and theses in WorldCat, including more than 7500 available in full text online. Use the Libraries Worldwide link to determine which libraries include the dissertation or thesis in their holdings.
Multisearch - Environment & Design
Search databases simultaneously, with Multisearch: 90+ databases with links to full text for thousands of scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and more plus citations to books and media in the UGA Libraries' - all under one search box. Note: Multi-Search is not comprehensive! ProQuest Dissertations and some other resources are not included in Multi-Search. Additionally, you may find that you can focus and refine your searches better by searching the databases individually.
Multisearch includes results from our local book catalog as well as citations from these databases, which may be searched separately or together:
Art & Architecture Complete provides the full text for articles from more than 240 scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications along with indexing for more than 630 more periodicals and selected books. Subjects covered include art, art history, photography, architecture, landscape architecture, historic preservation, interior design, archaeology, and urban planning. Coverage Dates: 1920s-present
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, drawing upon 1000 journals, the Avery Index provides bibliographic citations on archeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture. Coverage Dates: 1821-present
Garden, Landscape, and Horticulture Index - provides access to articles about gardens and plants, including topics such as horticulture, botany, garden and landscape design & history, ecology, plant and garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy. A highlight of the database is its focus on environmentally sustainable horticultural and design practices.
Environment Complete - Coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Coverage Dates: 1950s onwards
Urban Studies Abstracts - Covers essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, architecture and urban design, community development, urban history, land use, transporation and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Coverage Dates: 1973-
Related (and also in Multisearch):
Academic Search Complete - Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage Dates: Dates vary. Some content goes as far back as 1865.
Agricola- contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library and covers every major agricultural subject. Coverage Dates: 1979 to the present
America: History and Life - Premier bibliographic citation tool for the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Coverage Dates: Selective coverage back to 1964
UGA & Athens History and Architecture
Digital Library of Georgia - This resource offers digitized primary and secondary sources like letters, newspapers, photographs, and rare books. Search here for your building to see what is out there (i.e. Stegeman). A few collections that will be of particular use to you are:
Athens Historic Newspapers Archive - Provides access to nine newspaper titles published in Athens from 1827 to 1928. Consisting of over 77,000 newspaper pages, the archive provides historical images that are both full-text searchable and can be browsed by date.
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps - Digitized maps of Athens and other Georgia cities showing where businesses, streets, etc. were located, 1884-1922. Later maps are located in the Map & Government Information Library.
Historic Georgia Newspapers: The Athens Historic Newspapers Archive provides online access to five newspaper titles published in Athens from 1827 to 1922. Consisting of over 57,000 newspaper pages, the archive provides historical images that are both full-text searchable and can be browsed by date.
The Map and Government Documents Library is located in the subbasement of the Main Library. View additional Sanborn, campus, and aerial maps there as well as maps of other places around the globe and in the solar system!
Maps & Historic Sources - GA and Southeast
Digital Library of Georgia - digitized books, manuscripts, photographs, government documents, newspapers, maps, audio, video, and other resources. Includes more than a million digital objects in more than 200 collections from 60 institutions and 100 government agencies.
EnviroMapper - The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency provides this online tool that generates maps showing Superfund sites, toxic releases, air emissions, hazardous waste, water discharge permits, and more.
Special Collections Library - set up a research account
All researchers are required to register for an online Special Collections Research Account. This personalized account allows visitors to request material while at the Special Collections Libraries, from their home or office before they arrive. The account also allows researchers to track what materials they request as well as create and submit orders for photocopies, scans, and copies of material.
A premier U.S. demographics website. Its online tools help users visually analyze and understand the demography of the United States through the use of interactive maps and data reports. The primary product is a web-based application that creates fast, intuitive, and visually appealing maps and reports. Its software gives anyone with an Internet connection access to census data that was previously the domain of social science experts.
Social Explorer is a premier U.S. demographics website. Its online tools help users visually analyze and understand thedemography of the United States through the use of interactive maps and data reports. The primary product is a web-based application that creates fast, intuitive, and visually appealing maps and reports. Its software gives anyone with an Internet connection access to census data that was previously the domain of social science experts. Users must create and log in with a personal account.