Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LAND4910/6910 - Nature & Environmental Design: Home

Research guide for Professor Calabria's summer program at UGA's Costa Rica campus.

Finding Articles - Multisearch

Search databases simultaneously, with Multisearch: 90+ databases with links to full text for thousands of scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, images, and more plus citations to books and media in the UGA Libraries' - all under one search box.  

Multisearch includes results from our local book catalog as well as citations from these databases, which may be searched separately or together:

  • Anthropology Plus - Provides extensive indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, interdisciplinary studies, etc.
  • Environment Complete - Coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Coverage Dates: 1950s onwards
  • GreenFILE - Provides both academic and practical applications for those interested in learning more about environmental issues from Bioscience, Journal of Environmental Planning & Management, Journal of Ecology, and Conservation Biology (and other sources). Coverage Dates: 1970s - present
  • Garden, Landscape, and Horticulture Index - provides access to articles about gardens and plants, including topics such as horticulture, botany, garden and landscape design & history, ecology, plant and garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy. A highlight of the database is its focus on environmentally sustainable horticultural and design practices.
  • Urban Studies Abstracts - Covers essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, architecture and urban design, community development, urban history, land use, transporation and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Coverage Dates: 1973-
  • Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide - Covers wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians, including all aspects of wildlife and wildlife management. Taxonomic and geographic identifiers include broad regions and specific localities. Coverage Dates: 1935 - 

More databases!

Biological Sciences - This interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. 

BIOSIS - Covers over 6,000 journals and documents from more than 1,500 international meetings, as well as review articles, books, book chapters and monographs in the life sciences including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, botany, ecology, environment, microbiology, pharmacology and public health.

Web of Science provides access to the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index covering over 8,000 journals plus the latest five years of Current Contents and journal analytics in Journal Citation Reports.

HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) - Contains bibliographic citations from approx. 400 journals to articles, book reviews, and original literary works pertaining to Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border and Hispanics in the United States. 

International Statistics & Reports

EUROPA WorldDetailed information about countries and international organizations worldwide. Coverage Dates: 2006-present

Global Insight-  An enormous statistical database with many thousands of time series. The database is especially rich in economic data, covering the U.S. and many foreign countries; IMF monetary data; and market indices data. Frequency of data varies by times series: daily, monthly, quarterly, annual. Years of coverage vary by time series, extending back to the early 1900's in some cases.

  • Usage tip: To access the data, select DataInsight Web on the left side of the first screen. This will take you to a screen where you select the Geography (country) and Concept (time series).

Policy File - Covers all public policy issues and provides bibliographic citations to the work of 300 public policy think tanks, university research programs, and non-governmental research organizations. Examples of the contributors include the American Enterprise Institute, Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), the International Monetary Fund (IMF), RAND, and the United States Institute of Peace. Links are provided to organization web sites and full-text reports. Coverage Dates: 1990-

OECD iLibrary - Provides access to the full text of publications from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, a group of major developed countries. Covers all OECD books and periodicals published 1998-present. Contains extensive statistical data which can be downloaded into spreadsheets. The database is especially rich in annual economic surveys of member countries, industry reports, and statistical reports.

CIA World Factbook - Good reference source with maps, statistics, background information and reports. Entry on Costa Rica.

Undergraduate Research Award

The UGA Libraries is offering six awards totaling $3000 for undergraduate students.These awards provide cash prizes for excellence in research and academic inquiry. Prizes are awarded each spring at the CURO Symposium (participation in CURO/Honors not required). 

  • Seniors: one $800 first prize and two $450 second prizes
  • First - Third Year Students: one $600 first prize and one $300 second prize
  • NEW! Jurors' Choice Award: One $400 prize highlighting a particular research method, resource, or collection. Can be from any category (Senior or 1st-3rd year).

Whether you are creating a historical thesis, policy paper, composition for piano or a scientific study, you are eligible to apply for this award upon completing the following:

  • 3-5 page essay describing and reflecting upon your research project
  • Meet with a librarian for a research conference

See our website for details and deadlines!

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
M. Kathleen Kern
Contact:
373 Miller Learning Center
706-542-6196

UGA Libraries for Costa Rica

Bienvinida! So, you are studying in paradise this semester? Lucky you! Though I would love to be there in person, the UGA Libraries can still support your research even while we are an ocean apart.

The resources outlined here are mostly accessible from anywhere with your UGA log in and I am available by email and chat reference from anywhere with internet service. Keep in touch!

Your GIL Account - Log on to GIL to renew books online, search for ebooks, and get the off campus password for the article databases (though simply logging in with your UGA MyID should work). If you can't get in to your account, call Access Services at (706) 542-3256 or email maincirc@uga.edu. 

Interlibrary Loan - You can't get books delivered, but PDFs of journal/magazine articles will still be available within 48 hours. 

Books test