Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

INTL 4285: Crisis Diplomacy: Home

Crisis Diplomacy

Historical Newspapers

Historical Newspapers Online - database of several historical newspapers going back to 1851, including the Atlanta Constitution, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Washington Post and Wall Street Journal.

Nexis Uni - access to international newspapers going back to the mid-90s.

Databases in International Affairs

Try these first:

***Peace Research Abstracts (EBSCO) 

Indexes and summarizes articles related to peace research.  Try this one first!

 

Political Science Complete (EBSCO)

Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields.  

International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center 

This database includes hundreds of full text journals and periodicals, hundreds of thousands of selected articles, news feeds, reports, summaries, books, FAQs, and proprietary Background Information Summaries that pertain to terrorism and security.

 

ProQuest Political Science
ProQuest Political Science covers the literature of political science and international relations, including such topics as comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and hundreds of related topics.
 

‚ÄčProQuest Military Database

Military and government articles.  Include's full text of Jane's.

Digital National Security Archive

Full-text primary documents concerning U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945.

Homeland Security Digital Library

Provides access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized sources such as theses and reports from universities, organizations, and local and state agencies.

PDF Scans, GIL Express, and InterLibrary Loan

REQUESTING PDF SCANS

You can request pdf scans of book chapters and print articles which already reside in our collection.  Simply fill out this form.

GIL EXPRESS

You can borrow book from all 32 University System of Georgia institutions through a service called GIL Express.  

First, search the GIL Catalog and find the book you want.  Make sure you choose University System of Georgia from the dropdown menu.  Click on the link to the catalog record of the book.

Second, if another university has the book, and it is not checked out, click on My Account at the top of the page to log in with your MyID and password.

After you log in, you will be able to click on the Request link.  The book should arrive at the Library within four business days.

INTERLIBRARY LOAN

If the book you need is not owned by UGA or another USG institution, you can then place an ILLiad request, and we will borrow it from outside of the public university system.  This takes longer, so be prepared to wait from two weeks to a month to get a book.

ILL will also get articles for you if we do not possess a print or electronic copy.  They normally can email you a pdf within one business day.

Finding background information

Sometimes looking at academic encyclopedias can help you decided on a conflict.  Here are some good ones to use:

Martel, G. (2014). Twentieth-Century War and Conflict A Concise Encyclopedia. Hoboken: Wiley.
http://galileo-usg-uga-primo.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/UGA:UGA:01GALI_USG_ALMA51174190590002931

Minahan, J. (2016). Encyclopedia of stateless nations : Ethnic and national groups around the world (Second ed.).
http://galileo-usg-uga-primo.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/UGA:UGA:01GALI_USG_ALMA71117357940002931

Rudolph, J. (2016). Encyclopedia of modern ethnic conflicts (Second ed., Gale virtual reference library).http://galileo-usg-uga-primo.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/UGA:UGA:01GALI_USG_ALMA51174190590002931

Here is a list of potential introductory sources from the catalog.

Finding Books

All the world's information is organized by subject.  If you know how it is organized, it is easy to find books and articles about your research.  Below is an example of how to search for books in the Libraries Catalog:

Choose "subject" from the drop down menu, and then type in the following formula <country> foreign relations <different country>

This will narrow your search to just books about relations between those two countries.  This formula can be used for any single country research as well.  <country> economic conditions, for example, will bring back books about economy, and <country> social conditions will bring back books about societal issues.

If you want to limit your search to just ebooks, check "Full Access Online" in the left hand menu after you search.

undefined

Library of Congress Subject Headings

Knowing how research about your conflict is organized can be really helpful.

http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects.html

You can search for all of the subject areas related to your two countries if you're not sure how to phrase it.

Choosing the right books

UGA has 5 million books.  Some of them are academic, and others are not.  Here are some brief guidelines for identifying an academic book:

1) Written by an academic press (these are normally based at a University or College)

2) Written by a major publisher (such as Routledge, Sage, Palgrave, Macmillan)

3) Written by an academic, with qualifications you can check.

Historical Abstracts

Historical Abstracts is a good database for searching for research about conflicts because it allows you to limit to time period.

Multi-disciplinary databases

Top databases for academic research in International Affairs;

 

The Multi-Search is a resource which allows you to search 1/3 of our databases and our Libraries print catalog at the same time.  

1) Beware of the fire hydrant effect!  If you've ever done a broad search in Google you've experienced this.  Hundreds of thousands of results, only a few actually what you need.  If you're getting too many articles and books in your results, try going to a specific database for International Affairs.

3) It is easy to get mixed up on what is academic research and what is not.  Make sure you check the "Scholarly Peer Reviewed" box.

 

 

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Elizabeth White
Contact:
Miller Learning Center,
Room 373
706-542-0516
Website