International Students

Welcome to the University of Georgia Libraries! 

The UGA Libraries support students across our nine locations in Athens, GA, providing library materials, research consultations, and outreach opportunities for all students. Whether it's a chat message or a conversation in one of your classes, we look forward to meeting you and discussing how we might support you in your journey at UGA.

Continue through this guide to learn more about the resources within the UGA Libraries community and beyond. 

Main Library: Located on North Campus, the Main Library is home to the Map and Government Information Library, Research and Computational Data Management, the Digital Library of Georgia, the University of Georgia Press, and the Georgia Review. If you are looking to browse materials regarding the humanities, social sciences, or arts, then this location is the spot for you. 

McBay Science Library: Located on South Campus, the McBay Science Library houses materials on the natural, physical, and life sciences, as well as medical and technical subjects. Equipped with group and individual spaces, this location is perfect for any study session. 

Miller Learning Center: Located at the heart of campus, the Miller Learning Center (MLC) is a library of space. The MLC is known for its quiet study areas, collaborative spaces, presentation practice rooms, and large lecture halls. This location also houses our Creative Engagement Wing, which consists of numerous technologies and creative spaces for students to use. 

Special Collections: The Richard B. Russell Jr. Special Collections Libraries Building houses the Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library, including University Archives, the Richard B. Russell Jr. Library for Political Research and Studies, and the Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Collection.

But wait, there's more! See here for more information on additional library locations. 

Luckily, study spaces can be found all across campus! Group study rooms and booths are available in the Main Library, the McBay Science Library, and the MLC. Individual study carrels are available in both the Main and McBay Science Libraries. Check out our pages on study spaces and study carrels to learn more.

Note: Please see the online hours chart for information on building hours/closures. 

Unique Finds:

• Carnegie Library - Lower Level: Need a change of scenery? Located on the Health Sciences Campus, the Carnegie Library is a great option! This location includes 2 group study rooms and 7 computer workstations for students. 
• MLC - Sidney Samuel Thomas Reading Room: Looking for a quiet space in a traditional library setting? The MLC 3rd floor reading room is a great place to go when you need a quiet study space to finish that pesky paper. 
• Main Library - Graduate Reading Room: While it's called the Graduate Reading Room, this space is open to all students! Overlooking the Main Library quad, this is the perfect spot when you want a beautiful view for your studies. 

Still wondering what study spot you should investigate first? Take our quiz to help you find the right location for you! 

Where should I study on UGA's campus?

With over 200 people on staff, the UGA Libraries are here to help! We enjoy working with students and getting to the bottom of your questions, so please reach out. Not sure who to contact? See the list below for a description of our student-facing departments. 

• Academic Engagement: Are you looking to get some research support? Academic Engagement is here for you! Comprised of two teams (Humanities/Social Sciences and STEM), this department provides instruction and one-on-one consultations to the UGA community. 
• Research and Computational Data Management: The RCDM team works on projects related to research data management planning, data discovery, data access, data collection, data storage, data visualization, publishing, copyright, and digital preservation. 
• Special Collections: Are you interested in working with unique and rare materials? The folks at Special Collections can help you identify and handle primary sources for all of your assignments. 
• Student Success: Are you looking to gain support during your first year? Are you interested in library programs and makerspace creations? Student Success is available to help you get started and learn about the library tools that are here to help you succeed!
• User Services: Do you have questions about shelving, circulation, course reserves, or your library account? User Services is the department you're looking for!