Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 4025/6025 History of Material Culture Spring 2022: Home

Resources and information for using UGA special collections materials for 4025 research projects

Research Assistance

Russell Library archivists are available to assist you during the open hours of the Russell Library:

  • Monday, Wednesday, and Friday 8-4:45 p.m.
  • Tuesday and Thursday 8-6:45 p.m.
  • If you want to meet with Jill Severn,  you can come by during  office hours on Monday and Wednesday afternoons from 3-5 p.m. at the reference desk on the 3rd floor of the Special Collections Building. If want to meet at another time, contact her at russlib@uga.edu.  (Please allow 24 hours for a response.) 

Hargrett Library Archivists are available to assist you during the open hours of the Hargrett Library 

  • Monday, Wednesday, and Friday 8-4:45 p.m.
  • Tuesday and Thursday 8-6:45 p.m.
  • If you want to meet with Mazie Bowen  you can set up and appointment to meet by contacting her at hargrett@uga.edu  (Please allow 24 hours for a response.) 

 

 

Special Collections Hours and Service Point Information

Research and Exhibit Gallery Hours: 

  • Monday, Wednesday, Friday: 8-4:45 p.m.
  • Tuesday and Thursday: 8-6:45 p.m. 
  • Reference Desk and Reading Room are closed 12-1p.m. daily.

Service Points and Building Contacts 

  • Reference/Research Desk (3rd floor of the Russell Building Special Collections Libraries) 
    • This is where researchers check-in and order boxes for viewing in the reading rooms 
    • This is also where researchers can get general help with requesting materials
    • The number for the reference desk is 706-542-5766
  • Facilities/Security Desk (first floor main entrance of the Russell Building Special Collections Libraries)
    • Visitors can stop here for directions and general information about the building

 

Visit

Visit Special Collections

  • The Richard B. Russell Building is located at 300 South Hull Street.  
  • The UGA EAST-WEST bus stops right in front of the building.  
  • The exhibit galleries are located on the second floor of the building. 
  • The research rooms for Russell and Hargrett are located on the third floor of the building 

Here is a map...


View University of Georgia Special Collections Libraries Building in a larger map

 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Jill Severn
she/her/hers
Contact:
Richard B. Russell Building Special Collections Libraries
300 South Hull St.
706-542-5766
Website

Mazie Bowen

Profile Photo
Mazie Bowen
Contact:
300 South Hull Street, Athens, GA 30602
706-542-0618