University of Georgia & Athens, Georgia Ghost Stories

Collection consists of records of the Athens-Clarke Heritage Foundation, renamed Historic Athens, a non-profit preservation next hit and advocacy organization for historic buildings in Athens, Georgia. This collection includes organization files; boards minutes; and files on special topics, projects, and events.

The collection includes administrative files; financial records; meeting minutes, agendas, and notes; newsletters; project files; and photographs regarding the creation and activities of the Friends of Oconee Hill Cemetery. The administrative files include versions of the bylaws, constitution, and articles of incorporation; marketing and publicity files; and membership information. The project files document numerous preservation activities including landscape management and grounds maintenance; restoration of the Sexton House, Cobb-Lumpkin lot and fence, and the iron truss bridge; and research projects to identify graves.

The collection consists of records related to Linley's private architecture practice, his research on historic buildings and sites with an emphasis on the state of Georgia, and overviews of landscape architecture and historic preservation courses he taught at the University of Georgia.

This collection holds the Junior League of Athens Board of Directors' records and other administrative materials. There are also materials that document the activities of the League's various councils and committees such as the Bargain-za and Follies Committees. The collection includes scrapbooks dating from 1959 through 1995 and 2007-2008 plus a large number of photographic images from the 1950s through 2012. In addition, the records pertaining to the Taylor-Grady House and Arnocroft should be of particular interest to those researching Historical Preservation and Environmental Design in Georgia.

This collection consists of the papers of Dr. Phinizy Spalding, a longtime history professor at the University of Georgia. Types of materials in the collection include family materials; correspondence and subject files; scholarly activity and association files; many manuscripts of his writngs as well as research and teaching materials; several hundred documents regarding previous hithistoric preservation next hit and architecture in Athens and Georgia; materials regarding the management of the Lucy Cobb Institute; and printed material and maps.

The collection consists of various official records of the city of Athens that were housed in the Mayor's vault. Included are tax assessment books, tax digests, city engineer's correspondence, disbursement ledgers, mayor's general papers, and a significant amount of material dealing with the Athens Housing and Urban Renewal Project. The latter series includes city council minutes, project plans, and information about acquisitions and relocations concerning the renewal project undertaken in the early-mid 1960s including the Linnentown neighborhood.

Documents dating from 1883 to 1979 related to the history of the University of Georgia.

Free access to 480,149 issues of 1,114 newspapers spanning Georgia history from 1763 – 2025.

Originally designed for fire insurance assessment, these large-scale, color-coded maps of U.S. cities and towns show the location, footprint, and use of buildings, as well as the materials employed in their construction. The maps also indicate which city utilities - such as water and fire service - were available. Each city or town is mapped on one or more sheets that include the downtown region, some housing areas, and local mills. Each set includes an index sheet. Outlying mill sites and small populated centers in the country near a town are sometimes included as insets.

This tool is intended to provide basic resource information form the UGA Historic Preservation Master Plan in an interactive mapping format.

The Historic Preservation Master Plan Galleries are grouped geographically by campus: Athens, Griffin, and Tifton. Each gallery includes images of campus facilities. Click on any building in the gallery pages to access pertinent information from the Historic Preservation Master Plan.

Historic Athens is a 501(c)(3) non-profit working to celebrate and conserve community heritage in Athens, Georgia. For over 57 years, we have worked to improve historic preservation and heritage conservation in the Athens area. Historic Athens is a 501(c)(3) non-profit working to celebrate and conserve community heritage in Athens, Georgia. For over 57 years, we have worked to improve historic preservation and heritage conservation in the Athens area. Founded as Athens-Clarke Heritage Foundation in 1967, our mission is to be a proactive force in developing community-wide understanding of the value of historic buildings, neighborhoods, and heritage.

In 2018 the University of Georgia completed a Historic Preservation Master Plan that is an innovative and powerful tool that integrates historic preservation and archaeology into the early facilities planning stages. The Board of Regents (BOR) of the University System of Georgia (USG) is the largest holder of historic resources among state entities, and the University of Georgia is the largest holder among USG units with more than 730 historic buildings and 55 cultural landscapes across 11 Georgia counties. The development of the new plan took over two years and required blending of several cultural resource management models from a range of sources to develop one that is appropriate for a land and sea grant institution and the oldest public higher education institution in America.

Originally authored as a general audience-oriented book proposal for the University of Georgia Press, this collection and analysis of ghostlore from the University of Georgia (UGA) and Athens, Georgia area consists of three distinct sections: first, a detailed analysis on the folklore of ghosts at Joseph E. Brown ("Joe Brown") Hall at UGA; second, a historical survey of the "Susie" entity at the Thomas-Carithers House ("The Wedding Cake House", home of the UGA chapter of the Alpha Gamma Delta sorority); and third, a broad survey of ghostlore in the region from the late 19th century until today.

October brings spooky vibes to Athens, Georgia, making it the perfect time to delve into the town's ghostly tales and legends. Southern towns often have their fair share of haunted places, and Athens is no exception.

An article from The Red & Black from October 24, 2018 highlighting campus hauntings.

The University of Georgia may be known for exceptional school spirit, but did you know that campus is also home to spirits of the supernatural kind? Ghost sightings have been reported around campus practically since the university’s founding, from tales of eerie moans and creaks to full-blown apparitions.

A blog post by Lewis Powell IV called Town and Gown–Ghosts of Athens and the University of Georgia.