Index to articles and books on modern languages, literatures, film, theatre, folklore, and linguistics.
The MLA International Bibliography indexes are critical in literary and language scholarship. They index literature, languages, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, film, and folklore from over 4,400 journals and serials, as well as books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Approximately 45,000 records are added annually. Classical Greek and Latin literature are not covered. This database is produced by the Modern Language Association. The print edition counterpart to this database began in 1921.
The MLA Directory of Periodicals is now part of the MLA International Bibliography. Included is information on the periodicals that are indexed in the database, plus many more. The Directory of Periodicals data is updated annually.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts focuses on the nature and structure of human speech, research in speech sounds, sentence and word structure, meaning in language, spelling, phonetics and the pathology of speech, and hearing. This database provides bibliographic citations. Over 2600 journals from 50 nations are reviewed for inclusion, as well as selected books, book chapters, and dissertations.
Full text of 2000 French texts in many genres from the medieval period to the present.
ARTFLThe Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language consists of nearly 2000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. Material from the medieval period to the present is included. Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism essays, correspondence, and treatises. Subjects include literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy.
A guide covering the Classical Period to the present.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism provides a guide to literary theory and criticism from the Classical Period to the present. There are entries on significant critics as well as on literary movements and types of literature from around the world. The entries include primary and secondary sources, indexes and hypertext links.