Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

Freedom of Information Act (FOIA): Home

Introduction to the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA)

Enacted in 1966, and taking effect on July 5, 1967, the Freedom of Information Act provides that any person has a right, enforceable in court, to obtain access to federal agency records, except to the extent that such records (or portions of them) are protected from public disclosure by one of nine exemptions or by one of three special law enforcement record exclusions.1 The FOIA thus established a statutory right of public access to Executive Branch information in the federal government.2

The United States Supreme Court has explained that "[t]he basic purpose of [the] FOIA is to ensure an informed citizenry, vital to the functioning of a democratic society, needed to check against corruption and to hold the governors accountable to the governed."3 The "FOIA is often explained as a means for citizens to know 'what their Government is up to.'"4 The Supreme Court stressed that "[t]his phrase should not be dismissed as a convenient formalism."5 Rather, "[i]t defines a structural necessity in a real democracy."6 As President Obama has declared, "[a] democracy requires accountability, and accountability requires transparency."7 The FOIA "encourages accountability through transparency."8 From: Department of Justice Guide to the Freedom of Information Act

U.S. Government Resources

FOIA.gov
The Federal Government’s central website for FOIA.
The Office of Government Information Services
The Office of Government Information Services (OGIS) is a Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) resource for the public and the government. Congress has charged us with reviewing FOIA policies, procedures, and compliance of Federal agencies and identifying ways to improve compliance. Our mission also includes resolving FOIA disputes between Federal agencies and requesters.

How do I make a FOIA Request?

Declassified Documents

National Security Archive (George Washington University)
Founded in 1985 by journalists and scholars to check rising government secrecy, the National Security Archive combines a unique range of functions: investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, library and archive of declassified U.S. documents ("the world's largest nongovernmental collection" according to the Los Angeles Times), leading non-profit user of the U.S. Freedom of Information Act, public interest law firm defending and expanding public access to government information, global advocate of open government, and indexer and publisher of former secrets.

Non-Government Sources

Government Attic
Provides electronic copies of thousands of interesting Federal Government documents obtained under the Freedom of Information Act. Fascinating historical documents, reports on items in the news, oddities and fun stuff and government bloopers, they're all here. Think of browsing this site as rummaging through the Government's Attic -- hence our name.

Official Government Resources

Each Federal government agency website includes a FOIA section (often referred to as a FOIA Library) where commonly requested materials are posted along with instructions for submitting a FOIA request to that agency. These sites should be searched prior to making a FOIA request.

Georgia Open Government Laws

State of Georgia Open Records

Open Records and Meetings in Georgia - First Amendment Clinic
The First Amendment Clinic at the University of Georgia School of Law: Defends and advances freedoms of speech, press, assembly and petition through direct client representation, serves as an educational resource on issues of free expression and press rights and provides law students with the real-world practice experience to become leaders on First Amendment issues
Sunshine Laws: A Guide to Open Government in Georgia
A publication created by the Georgia First Amendment Foundation in cooperation with the Office of the Attorney General of Georgia.

Open Government Organizations in Georgia

Georgia First Amendment Foundation
The Georgia First Amendment Foundation, established in 1994, is a nonpartisan nonprofit organization that works to educate citizens, public officials, journalists and lawyers on Georgia’s open records, open meetings and free speech laws.

As part of our mission, we advocate for government transparency, free speech rights and access to public information, meetings and proceedings. We do that critical work at the state General Assembly, in the courts and in county and city offices across Georgia.

UGA Open Records

UGA Open Records Policy
The University of Georgia Division of Marketing & Communications is responsible for administering the University’s compliance with the Georgia Open Records Act. This law places important responsibilities on University administrators and staff members. University administrators and staff members should be sure to notify the Division of Marketing & Communications (706-542-8090 or ugaopenrecordsrequest@uga.edu) immediately upon receipt of a request for University records.
UGA Open Records Request Form

Additional FOIA Resources

A Guide to Accessing Public Records for the First Time - Syracuse University
In her media law class, Syracuse professor Barbara Fought asks students to reconsider their understanding of private and public information. Her series of hypotheticals usually earn the same response—most students believe information from eye color to salary and property worth are nobody else’s business.

Your Librarians

‎ ‎‎Humanities & Social Science Team

Email Me

Subjects: -Citation Management, -EndNote, -Library Tools & Tutorials, -RefWorks, First Year Odyssey, Georgia, News and Newspapers

Related LibGuides

Journalism & Mass Media
by Sheila Devaney Last Updated Oct 19, 2024 480 views this year

JOUR 3190: Reporting II
by Sheila Devaney Last Updated Oct 11, 2024 707 views this year

Last Updated: Jun 21, 2024 12:26 PM
URL: https://guides.libs.uga.edu/foia
Print Page

Subjects: Government Information, Journalism & Mass Communication

Tags: FOIA, freedom of information act