Home - FYOS 1001 - History of Plant Diseases and Their Impact on Human Societies - Brannen 2023 - GALILEO@UGA Subject Guides at University of Georgia

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

All Library Hours

Places to Search

UGA Libraries Multi-Search
Search for books or journal articles related to your topic.
Google Scholar
Great for finding keywords on topics, as well as research related to your topic using the "Cited" feature.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly journals with back issues from the date of first publication. Also includes some e-books.
JSTOR provides electronic access to back issues (from the date of first publication) of selected, core journals. JSTOR also provides some ebooks. The goal of the project is to build a reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature. The journals are organized into the Arts and Sciences Collections I & II, the General Sciences Collection, the Ecology and Botany Collection, the Business Collection, the Language and Literature Collection, the Mathematics and Statistics Collection, and the Music Collection.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Journals and ebooks primarily in the health, life, physical, and social sciences, some with full text.
Wiley Online provides full-text access to thousands of journals and ebooks covering almost all disciplines but with strengths in the sciences and social sciences. It also indexes the contents of journals and ebooks that are published by John Wiley but not part of UGA's Wiley Online subscription. Look for the yellow open lock icon for items you can access online. Other books and journals listed may be available in print in the library; search for them in the GIL Find catalog or the 'Journals' search on the Libraries' homepage.
CAB Abstracts & CAB Archive This link opens in a new window
Index to research on agriculture, forestry and allied life sciences.
CAB Abstracts & CAB Archive provide bibliographic citations in the fields of agriculture, forestry and their allied life science disciplines. Specific topics include animal and crop husbandry, animal and plant breeding, plant protection, genetics, forestry engineering, economics, veterinary medicine, human nutrition, travel and rural development.

*This resource is available for 8 users at a time. If you are unable to access it, please try again in 10-15 minutes*

Make the most out of your searching using search operators. Quick guide here!

Starter Kit Resources : Journal Articles

The following journal articles can be found using multi-search. Copy and paste the Title of the article into multi-search to find full-text of the article. If you are working from off campus, make sure to click on the yellow rectangle bar at the top of the multi-search page to sign-in!

These are a few articles to get you started:

Appleby, A. B. (1980). Epidemics and famine in the little ice age. The Journal of interdisciplinary history, 10(4), 643-663.

Chakraborty, S., & Newton, A. C. (2011). Climate change, plant diseases and food security: an overview. Plant Pathology, 60(1), 2-14.

Lucas, H. S. (1930). The great European famine of 1315, 1316, and 1317. Speculum, 5(4), 343-377.

Russell, J. C. (1966). Effects of pestilence and plague, 1315–1385. Comparative Studies in Society and History, 8(4), 464-473.

Start Kit Resources : eBooks

eBooks can be accessed from on campus or at home. You can search for ebooks using the "Books & More" tab on the homepage.

"Books & More" : GIL-Find Catalog :: Search the UGA Libraries' collections of books, movies, e-books, and more. To find books on a person or organization, go to the Advanced Search, and search for subject such as "the great famine"

*Finding eBooks

After searching in gil-find catalog, go to the left hand side. Under Availability, select Full Access Online and under Format, select Book, then select the green Apply Filter button.

Below are a couple of eBooks to get you started, but there are many more out there!

Famines During the 'Little Ice Age' (1300-1800) Socionatural Entanglements in Premodern Societies (2018) edited by Dominik Collet, Maximilian Schuh

Farming, Famine and Plague The Impact of Climate in Late Medieval England (2017) by Kathleen Pribyl