Education, preK-16: GALILEO Databases

ERIC (at EBSCOhost) covers all aspects of education and educational research, includes both abstracts of published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics. It corresponds to the printed indexes of RIE (Resources in Education) and CIJE (Current Index to Journals in Education). This database is produced by the Office of Educational Research and Improvement (OERI), U.S. Department of Education. The EBSCOhost version of the ERIC database includes the searchable Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors. The EBSCOhost version of ERIC is updated quarterly; to see citations of articles and documents added since the last update (but not the full text) go to Department of Education's ERIC web site.

Covers professional and scholarly journals in all areas of education from early childhood to adult education. Indexes more than 2,200 journals and provides full text for over 1,300. Also contains the full text of selected reference books and conference papers.

Gives users access to over 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education

PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. Some articles are available in full text. Journal coverage includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals from nearly 50 countries. The historic portion of the database comes from from three sources: Psychological Abstracts (1927-1966), Psychological Bulletin (1921-1926), and all journals published by the American Psychological Association plus the American Journal of Psychology from the first issue of volume 1, number 1 in November 1887.

Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987-present. Over 60,000 references are added annually.

PsycINFO online help:

PsycINFO Search Help/Training Center includes Search Tips and How-To's and a search guide specific to the EBSCOhost interface.

The APA also offers YouTube videos on how to use PsycINFO.

The comprehensive resource covers children’s literature books and media from beginning readers to young adults. It includes over 1.2 million titles and supporting content such as 600K professional reviews, 1.25K award sources representing 110K book awards, reading measurement programs, author links, lesson plans, and teaching guides. The Enterprise search engine offers 50 search filters and an 18 STEM terms search feature. It’s an excellent tool for selecting trade books, creating thematic reading lists, annotated bibliographies, interpreting reviews, and developing classroom collections.

Annual Reviews, a nonprofit organization, provides critical, authoritative reviews of scholarly advances in various fields of science.Annual Reviews can be searched in its entirety or within each of the following suites: Biomedical Science, Physical Sciences and Social Sciences.

The Biomedical Science Suite is further subdivided as Biochemistry, Biomedical Engineering, Biophysics and Biomolecular Structure, Cell and Developmental Biology, Ecology and Systematics, Entomology, Genetics, Genomics and Human Genetics, Immunology, Medicine, Microbiology, Neuroscience, Nutrition, Pharmacology and Toxicology, Physiology, Phytopathology, Plant Physiology and Plant Molecular Biology, Psychology, and Public Health.

The Physical Science Suite is further subdivided as Astronomy and Astrophysics, Biomedical Engineering, Biophysics and Biomolecular Structure, Earth and Planetary Sciences, Energy and the Environment, Fluid Mechanics, Materials Science, Nuclear and Particle Science, and Physical Chemistry.

The Social Science Suite is further subdivided as Anthropology, Energy and Environment, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health, and Sociology.