Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

VETM 8001: Home

Your Librarian

Diana Hartle's picture
Diana Hartle
Contact:
(706) 542-6399 (office)

(706) 542-0698 (Reference Desk)
Website

GALILEO Login

To use our GALILEO databases, e-journals, and e-books from off-campus and some UGA wireless networks, you'll be prompted to log in with your MyID and password. Your MyID is your UGAMail address minus the "@uga.edu."

Forgot your MyID and/or password?


Don't have a UGA MyID? Visit or contact Access Services to find out if you are eligible to have a library account created for you:

phone: 706.542.3256

email: maincirc@uga.edu

Funding Opportunities

UGA subscribes to a database that provides funding opportunities from numerous sponsors across all disciplines. UGA faculty, students, and staff can search the database and create custom email funding alerts based on the criteria provided by the user.


Explore Pivot now to find funding opportunities that meet your research interests.

 

Meet BrowZine!

Journal Databases

Here are some of the most-used databases in the field of Veterinary Medicine:

CAB Abstracts & CAB Archive - Indexes international agricultural and veterinary medicine literature.

PubMed - Index and abstracts of journal articles in the health sciences with links to full text. Remember to use the link from the library's homepage (or above) to access UGA subscribed content for this source.

Web of Science - Indexes scientific literature from 1945 forward.  Cited reference and times cited information is provided for the articles included in this resource.  

Annual Reviews - Critical reviews of scholarly research in the life, physical, and social sciences.

Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts - Covering all aspects of the management of marine and freshwater environments.

ScienceDirect - Database with full text access to scholarly journals published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries.

Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide - Index to articles covering all aspects of wildlife and wildlife management.

Zoological Record - Index to zoological literature with particular emphasis on systematic/taxonomic information. 

Multi-SearchA combined search of GIL and hundreds of UGA's GALILEO databases including ones with articles pertinent to the area of Forestry. If you are getting too many irrelevant results from Multi-Search, try searching one of the more specialized databases listed above.

 

Finding Books, Theses, & Dissertations

GIL is the UGA Libraries catalog of books, journals, CDs, DVDs, and more.

GIL Universal is the larger catalog for all University System of Georgia libraries.  Printed books may be requested from any of these participating libraries.  As a UGA affiliate, you can go in person to these libraries to check out books.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (formerly Dissertation Abstracts) - Index to doctoral dissertations and masters theses.

WorldCat - Huge catalog of books and other materials held by libraries worldwide. 

Not Available @ UGA?

Need a book, but UGA Libraries don't own it or UGA's copy is unavailable?  Use GIL Express to request from another library in the University System of Georgia.  

Need a journal article, book, thesis or dissertation not owned by the UGA Libraries?  Request these items for free from our Interlibrary Loan service.  Journal articles are delivered quickly and electronically.

EndNote @ UGA

EndNote is a tool that allows users to create a library of citation records that are of interest.  PDFs and other file attachments can be associated with these citations.  Upon installation of EndNote, a toolbar will install in Word or Pages,  This toolbar links to the EndNote library for pulling both the in-text and bibliographic citation into the document in whatever style is needed for the paper.

To download this desktop application, enter your UGA credentials at this website:  http://guides.libs.uga.edu/c.php?g=349954&p=2360585#14958865

Additional training is available by filling out this form.