Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AP Seminar: Home

Campus Use

Remember, you have to be on UGA's campus to use these!

If are studying in the Main or Science Library after 9:00 pm, you will need an ID indicating you are a student.

What articles are acceptable?

Getting Full Text

Getting the full text of articles in GALILEO:

If the results has a link that says '.pdf full text' or '.html full text' under it:

  • Simply click on the link and you will have access to the article.

If it does NOT have those links:

  • Click on the button to find out which database has the full text.

Blank Research Journal

Here is an example Research Journal for International Affairs.  You can edit this for any subject.  It will help you keep organized as you do your research.

Research Journal

Background Information

Before you start searching in the Libraries databases, it is sometimes helpful to get a concise overview of your topic.  Here are some good places to start.

Sage Reference Online

CRS Reports

Europa World

Statista:  A statistics portal that gathers data on more than 80,000 topics from a wide variety of sources. Includes market research, consumer and industry reports, and more.

Other Academic Encyclopedias

Multi-disciplinary databases

The Multi-Search is a resource which allows you to search 130 of our databases and our Libraries print catalog at the same time.  

ProQuest Central is a resource which allows you to search 30 databases which are not indexed in the Multi-Search.

This means you can search broadly for your topic amongst databases which contain newspapers, magazines, and scholarly articles and books.  

Things to remember:

1) The Multi Search doesn't search everything the Libraries has access to electronically.  We have over 500 databases and this resource searches only a quarter of them.  There are several excellent databases that aren't in the Multi Search!  

ProQuest Central allows you to search a portion of the databases NOT in the Multi-Search (30 in total).  If you aren't finding what you want in the Multi-Search, try ProQuest Central.

2) Beware of the fire hydrant effect!  If you've ever done a broad search in Google you've experienced this.  Hundreds of thousands of results, only a few actually what you need.  If you're getting too many articles and books in your results, try going to a specific database listed below.

Subject Specific Databases

UGA organizes research databases by subject.  These individual databases can be a lot useful when researching wide reaching topics.

Simply click on the area you're studying and you'll see a list of databases that a Librarian has picked out.

A good database to start with is Web of Science, but don't limit yourself to just one database!

Your UGA Librarian

Profile Photo
Elizabeth White
Contact:
Miller Learning Center,
Room 373
706-542-0516
Website