Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ERSH 6200: Methods of Research in Education (Englehard): Suggested Databases

Getting Started

How to you even FIND the databases? Start with the Libraries' Homepage.

  • Go to the right to the tab Databases A-- Z
  • Select the letter the desired database begins with
  • Click the letter
  • Scroll to your database

Another method is to identify your databases by topic.

  • Begin with the Libraries'  Homepage
  • Go to the right to the tab Research by Subject
  • Click
  • Scroll through the subjects to find your area
  • Click and see both general areas as well as course guides

The blue button Check SFX for a menu of link options for this item. A new window will open.-  in database search results will connect you to our electronic holdings of the JOURNAL where your article appears. If we don't electronically own the material you need, go to the GIL-FIND catalog to see if we have the item in print. Search for the journal title and not the article!

In addition to looking at the major Education & Psychology databases,  ERIC, Education Research Complete & PsycInfo, consider your other options. Remember that you can search multiple databases simultaneously within database "families", i.e., EBSCOHost or ProQuest.

Suggested Databases

In addition to looking at the major Education & Psychology databases, 

consider your other options. Remember that you can search multiple databases simultaneously within database "families", i.e., EBSCOHost or ProQuest.

We have the 2008 edition of SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods available in GALILEO.

Some general databases to consider for a variety of topics include Academic Research Complete, ProQuest Dissertations & ThesesWeb of Science is another good one for multiple subjects.

Below are some examples of other searches and how to think about them:

For topics relating to student athletes, consider the following: Medline, ProQuest Nursing and Allied HealthSource , CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health), SPORTDiscus, Physical Education Index, and OregonPDF. Also, please consider the Kinesiology options from the drop-down menu in the Articles & Databases>>by subject tab.

For research on transgender students, the medically-oriented databases listed above will also apply as well as Family & Society Studies Worldwide,  Family Studies Abstracts, LGBT Life, Sociological Abstracts and/or Sociological Collection, Violence & Abuse Abstracts, & Women's Studies International.

You'll find quality sources for student veterans in the Education & Psychology databases mentioned above as well as in PTSD Pubs formerly known as PILOTS. This database focuses largely on the mental & physical health issues some veterans may have and is produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans' Affairs.

Looking for policy discussions? Consider Policy Map, which has links to full-text policy reports from a variety of think-tanks and non-governmental agencies. Keep the agendas of the agencies in mind when looking here! Also consider Political Science Complete,  Public Administration Abstracts, & Public Affairs Index. SREB is the Southern Regional Education Board database and may also have some policy recommendations.

Resources relating to adult learners can be found in the Research by Subject Guide (from the Libraries' Homepage) listing for Education--Adult

STEM topics can be found in both the general Education K-16 GALILEO listing as well as in specific science (Biology, Chemistry, Physics & Astronomy) Math & Engineering listings. Scroll through the drop-down menu of Subjects in the Articles & Databases tab from the Libraries Homepage for more ideas and options.

Web of Science only indexes scholarly materials, so you won't have to limit your results to get them. It's heavily tilted toward the "hard" sciences, but is getting increasing coverage for the social sciences as well. One of the cool features of this database is that you can sort your results by "number of times cited". This is great way to discover articles that are heavily used in your field. 

  • Search for author by last name [no comma] first initial [no period] asterisk.  Your search will look like this bergmann c* The asterisk finds variations etc of middle names.
  • You can also search by topic
  • As with other databases, use the asterisk to expand your search and
  • combine terms you are willing to interchange by keeping them in the same search box, joining them with OR--stutter* OR fluency
  • On the results page, look to the left and under "Document Types" you may find "Review". A review article is a giant lit review. If it doesn't appear at first, use the "more options" button to see if there are any. This is good way to get a good overview of the lit.