Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

INTL 4000 - Research Design (Saglam): Home

Research Design

Getting Full Text

Getting the full text of articles in GALILEO:

If the results has a link that says '.pdf full text' or '.html full text' under it:

  • Simply click on the link and you will have access to the article.

If it does NOT have those links:

  • Click on the FindIt@UGA button under the result;
  • If we have access to article in another database, a link either directly to the article or to the online version of the journal will be provided;
    • If it links to the journal, you will need to browse to your article by clicking on the correct volume, issue, and page number (this information is available in your original results list);

All GALILEO databases have the FindIt@UGA button to help you access the full text articles in the UGA Libraries.

GIL Express and InterLibrary Loan

GIL EXPRESS

You can borrow book from all 32 University System of Georgia institutions through a service called GIL Express.  

First, search the GIL Catalog and find the book you want.  Make sure you choose University System of Georgia from the dropdown menu.  Click on the link to the catalog record of the book.

Second, if another university has the book, and it is not checked out, click on My Account at the top of the page to log in with your MyID and password.

After you log in, you will be able to click on the Request link.  The book should arrive at the Library within four business days.

INTERLIBRARY LOAN

If the book you need is not owned by UGA or another USG institution, you can then place an ILLiad request, and we will borrow it from outside of the public university system.  This takes longer, so be prepared to wait from two weeks to a month to get a book.

ILL will also get articles for you if we do not possess a print or electronic copy.  They normally can email you a pdf within one business day.

Acceptable Research for Lit Reviews

Multi-disciplinary databases

The Multi-Search is a resource which allows you to search 130 of our databases and our Libraries print catalog at the same time.  

ProQuest Central is a resource which allows you to search 30 databases which are not indexed in the Multi-Search.

This means you can search broadly for your topic amongst databases which contain newspapers, magazines, and scholarly articles and books.  

Things to remember:

1) The Multi Search doesn't search everything the Libraries has access to electronically.  We have over 500 databases and this resource searches only a quarter of them.  There are several excellent databases that aren't in the Multi Search!  

ProQuest Central allows you to search a portion of the databases NOT in the Multi-Search (30 in total).  If you aren't finding what you want in the Multi-Search, try ProQuest Central.

2) Beware of the fire hydrant effect!  If you've ever done a broad search in Google you've experienced this.  Hundreds of thousands of results, only a few actually what you need.  If you're getting too many articles and books in your results, try going to a specific database listed below.

Databases in International Affairs

Try these first:

***Peace Research Abstracts (EBSCO) 

Indexes and summarizes articles related to peace research.  Try this one first!

 

Political Science Complete (EBSCO)

Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields.  

International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center 

This database includes hundreds of full text journals and periodicals, hundreds of thousands of selected articles, news feeds, reports, summaries, books, FAQs, and proprietary Background Information Summaries that pertain to terrorism and security.

 

ProQuest Political Science
ProQuest Political Science covers the literature of political science and international relations, including such topics as comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and hundreds of related topics.
 

‚ÄčProQuest Military Database

Military and government articles.  Include's full text of Jane's.

Digital National Security Archive

Full-text primary documents concerning U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945.

Homeland Security Digital Library

Provides access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized sources such as theses and reports from universities, organizations, and local and state agencies.

Your UGA Librarian

Elizabeth White's picture
Elizabeth White
Contact:
Miller Learning Center,
Room 373
706-542-0516
Website