Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FYOS 0000: The Threshold of Democracy: Athens in 403 B.C.E. (Norman): Home

Your Librarian

Emily Luken's picture
Emily Luken
Contact:
Main Library
Collection Development
Email: ehopkins@uga.edu

Online Office Hours:
Classics Department: Wednesdays, 1-2:30pm via Zoom
Philosophy & Religion Departments:
Wednesdays & Thursdays, 2:30-3:30pm via Zoom
By appointment: ehopkins@uga.edu
Website

Your Assignment

In this class you will be playing the game 'The Threshold of Democracy: Athens in 403 B.C.E.'  This guide will help you find the suggested readings that will be necessary as you participate in the game, and will highlight resources that may be useful to you as you write speeches or develop your arguments.

Exploring Athens in 403 B. C.E.

Athenian Agora Excavations

  • This web site will introduce you to the hub of Athenian civic life, and has a building-by-building precis with illustrations, as well as a special section on Athenian democracy

  • Athenian Agora Digital Library - Publications, excavation reports, excavation notebooks, contexts, objects, plans and drawings, and photos from the Agora excavations at the American School of Classical Studies at Athens

Ancient City of Athens and Metis (from stoa.org)

  • Short entries with images, and at Metis, 3-d virtual tours of many Athens areas and monuments (including the Agora and the Pnyx), with links to Perseus articles when available.

Finding Recommended Readings

You may also choose to search for other primary sources or scholarly writings to illuminate your character's situation or position.

Useful as references and background resources:

  • The Oxford Classical Dictionary Online (GALILEO database)
  • The Oxford Classical Dictionary; Main Library Reference (1st floor) DE5 O9 2012
  • The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome, Main Library Reference (1st floor) DE5 .O95 2010

For primary sources, use Loeb Classical Library Online or Perseus Digital Library (Tufts University); note that texts are keyword-searchable (i.e. search for "metic" "tyrant" etc.)

For scholarly journal articles:

  • If you have a citation for a journal article and want to find out if we have it at UGA, use the Citation Linker.  Enter the title of the journal or article and a pop-up will link to online full-text (if available) or the print journal in the library (if we have it). 
  • Search by keyword at JSTOR, a database of good scholarly journals for Classics, mostly in English.

For scholarly books, use GILFind:

  • Keyword search: try the name of an historical figure, ancient author, place, event, or words like "athens democracy", "athens law" etc..
  • Subject heading search: try:
    • Democracy -- Greece -- Athens -- History To 1500
    • Athens (Greece) -- History
    • Law, Greek
    • Athens (Greece) -- Politics and government
    • Political participation -- Greece -- Athens -- History To 1500.
    • Socrates
    • there are many more - follow the links in the records you find!

For even more resources related to ancient Greece, check out the Classics Research Guide