Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UNIV 2112 (Singto): Writing and Citing

Writing Center

The UGA Writing Center is available to you to help with the writing process.  Bring in your draft to them, and they will give you helpful suggestions to make it better!

Park Hall

Monday - Wednesday:  8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday:  8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Friday:  10:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Room 66

Miller Learning Center

Daytime Drop-in Tutoring (no appointment necessary) 

Mon–Thurs from 1:30–4:30 pm
MLC Room 302

Evening Tutoring (by appointment)

Mon. 4 - 8:30 p.m.
Wed. 4 - 8 p.m.

Science Library

Monday:  9:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Tuesday:  8:30 AM - 11:30 am

Wednesday:  8:00 AM - NOON and 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM

Thursday:  9:00 AM - 11:00 AM and 1:00 PM - 4:00 PM

Friday:  10:30 AM - 1:30 PM

Room 201

Citation Guides

If you just want information on how a certain style is organized, the UGA Libraries keep Citation Style Guide web pages with examples of how to cite the most common types of resources using the most common styles (APA, Chicago, MLA, and more!)

APA Style

MLA Style

Chicago Style‚Äč

For more information about APA style and formatting, Purdue has a helpful website.

APA Citation Breakdown

 

If you're using the Chicago Manual of Style (Author-Date) or Footnotes, you can access the entire manual online through GALILEO:  http://www.galileo.usg.edu/express?link=mlal-uga1&inst=uga1

If you want a brief overview of Chicago, we have citation style pages which the Libraries' have made for quick questions about a style:

http://www.libs.uga.edu/ref/chicagostyle.pdf

Annotated Bibliography

OWL @ Purdue has a great site about how to write an Annotated Bibliography

bibliography is a list of sources (books, journals, Web sites, periodicals, etc.) one has used for researching a topic. Bibliographies are sometimes called "References" or "Works Cited" depending on the style format you are using. A bibliography usually just includes the bibliographic information (i.e., the author, title, publisher, etc.).

An annotation is a summary and/or evaluation. Therefore, an annotated bibliographyincludes a summary and/or evaluation of each of the sources. Depending on your project or the assignment, your annotations may do one or more of the following.

Elements of a good Annotated Bibliography:

1) Bibliography according to the appropriate citation style (MLA, APA, CBE/CSE, etc.).
2) Explanation of main points and/or purpose of the work—basically, its thesis—which shows among other things that you have read and thoroughly understand the source.
3) Verification or critique of the authority or qualifications of the author.
4) Comments on the worth, effectiveness, and usefulness of the work in terms of both the topic being researched and/or your own research project.
Source: UNC Writing Center - Annotated Bibliography

Sample Annotated Bibliography - marked up