Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

POPH5240: Home

This guide is intended for students in Dr. Brandy Burgess' POPH5240 class - Epidemiology.

Your Librarian

Diana Hartle's picture
Diana Hartle
Contact:
(706) 542-6399 (office)

(706) 542-0698 (Reference Desk)
Website

EndNote @ UGA

EndNote is a citation management tool that allows users to create a library of citation records that are of interest. PDFs and other file attachments can be associated with these citations. Upon installation of EndNote, a toolbar will install in your Microsoft Word. This toolbar links to the EndNote library for pulling both the in-text and bibliographic citation into the document in whatever style is needed for the paper.

To download this desktop application, enter your UGA credentials at this website:  http://guides.libs.uga.edu/c.php?g=349954&p=2360585#14958865

Additional training is available by filling out this form.

What is BrowZine?

BrowZine is a library-subscribed app that lets you read and save many of our scholarly journals in a more visually-appealing interface on your computer, tablet, or phone. BrowZine will alert you when a new issue of a journal is available.

With BrowZine, use your computer, phone or tablet to:
  • Browse through scholarly journals in your field
  • Save key journals to your personal bookshelf
  • Receive alerts when new articles or issues have been published by journals on your bookshelf
  • Save articles for off-line reading; email them to yourself or a colleague; and export to RefWorks, Zotero, or Mendeley

Available journals

BrowZine does not include all the Libraries' subscriptions. Journals included must be scholarly and able to work with BrowZine technology. Only journals that are subscribed to by the UGA Libraries or open access are included. 

Current list of publishers included

To see if a specific title is included, search the web version or download the app to search for it. Don't see your favorite UGA-subscribed journal? BrowZine continues to add new journals. Contact us and we'll ask Browzine to add it.

The fine print: 

BrowZine coverage begins in 2005 or later. To read earlier issues, use the Libraries' Journal Locator.

Browzine is not a tool for searching for articles by subject. Use a GALILEO database or Multi-Search to identify articles on a specific topic.


Devices and operating systems supported

BrowZine FAQ

Recommended Books for POPH5240

Recommended Websites for POPH5240

Journal Databases

Here are some of the most-used databases in the field of Veterinary Medicine:

CAB Abstracts & CAB Archive - Index to research on agriculture, forestry, and allied life sciences. 

PubMed - Comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. 

Web of Science - This source indexes scientific literature from 1945 forward.  Cited reference and times cited information is provided for the articles included in this resource.  

AGRICOLA - Index to publications on all aspects of agriculture and agricultural research. 

Annual Reviews - Critical reviews of scholarly research in the life, physical, and social sciences.

ScienceDirect - Database with full text access to scholarly journals published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries.

Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide - Index to articles covering all aspects of wildlife and wildlife management.

Zoological Record - Index to zoological literature with particular emphasis on systematic/taxonomic information. 

Multi-Search - A combined search of GIL and about 100 GALILEO databases including ones with articles pertinent to the area of Forestry. If you are getting too many irrelevant results from Multi-Search, try searching one of the following more specialized databases listed above.

 

Finding Books, Theses, & Dissertations

GIL is the UGA Libraries catalog of books, journals, CDs, DVDs, and more.

GIL Universal is the larger catalog for all University System of Georgia libraries.  Printed books may be requested from any of these participating libraries.  As a UGA affiliate, you can go in person to these libraries to check out books.

University of Georgia Electronic Theses and Dissertations Index, abstracts, and some full-text PDFs of theses and dissertations submitted electronically to the Graduate School at the University of Georgia since the summer of 1999.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (formerly Dissertation Abstracts) - Index to doctoral dissertations and masters theses.

WorldCat - Huge catalog of books and other materials held by libraries worldwide. 

Not Available @ UGA?

Need a book, but UGA Libraries don't own it or UGA's copy is unavailable?  Use GIL Express to request from another library in the University System of Georgia.  

Need a journal article, book, thesis or dissertation not owned by the UGA Libraries?  Request these items for free from our Interlibrary Loan service.  Journal articles are delivered quickly and electronically.