Skip to main content

Guide to Women's Collections at the Richard B. Russell Library: Home

Richard B. Russell Library for Political Research and Studies

About the Russell Library

The Richard B. Russell Library for Political Research and Studies at the University of Georgia Libraries was established in 1974. The Library has become a center for research and study of the modern American political system, with particular emphasis on the role of Georgia and the increasingly diverse people, events, and ideas that shape Georgia’s modern political landscape.

The Russell Library holds more than 500 archival collections from 1900 to the present. These collections include federal and state appointees, members of Congress, governors, state legislators, judges, mayors, political activists and observers, political party records, and public policy organizations such as the Georgia Public Policy Foundation, Leadership Georgia, the ACLU of Georgia, and the Athens-Clarke County League of Women Voters.

About the Guide for Researching Women's Collections

This guide aims to outline the collections at the Richard B. Russell Library that were created by women. The Russell Library houses nearly 500 political collections; many of these document the myriad ways that women have interacted with and affected public policy and the political process. These include elected officials at local, state, and national levels; political figures involved in campaigns and movements; and grassroots organizers. All of these women are important to Georgia history, and we hope this LibGuide can help students research these collections.

This guide was prepared by Madison Ingram, project archivist at the Richard B. Russell Library, and funded by a generous donation from Margaret Bennett, wife of former U.S. Ambassador William Tapley Bennett, Jr.

Guide Index

Home   Find out some basic information about this guide and the Richard B. Russell Library.

Political Figures   This page outlines the women who were involved in campaigns, government, and other political movements.

Elected Officials   This page contains information about women who were elected to office at local, state, and federal levels.

Grassroots  This page contains information on women who were involved with grassroots organization and activism.