Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MGMT 5560 - Strategic Management research resources: Home

Business information resources about companies and industries, with a focus on the international level available through the UGA Libraries and Terry College.

Industry & Market resources

Industry trends, market sizes, concentration levels, principal firms

IBISWorld (in GALILEO)

Detailed U.S. industry reports on more than 700 NAICS industries and hundreds of specialized industry categories. Reports cover industry segments, market characteristics, industry conditions, profiles of key companies, and industry outlook. 

D&B Hoovers (in GALILEO)

Extensive profiles on major public and private companies worldwide as well as basic global industry competitors and individual country industry reports.

Business Source Complete (in GALILEO)

Business-related articles from peer-reviewed journals and trade journals; company profiles, individual country industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.

Mintel Reports (in GALILEO; some functions require an individual profile using your UGA email address)  

In-depth market research reports on a wide range of U.S. and U.K. consumer products.  Also covers lifestyle topics.  Reports cover consumer demographics, market size, market shares, trends/forecasts, segmentation, and distribution channels, among other topics.

Mergent Intellect (in GALILEO)

U.S. consumer demographic and lifestyle data including Prizm reports from Nielsen. First Research industry reports and key business ratios on hundreds of industries. NOTE: When you enter the First Research industry reports module within Mergent Intellect you will be required to submit an email address.

Sports Market Analytics (in GALILEO)

Information and data on sporting goods and sports markets in the U.S.

 

International resources

Europa World (in GALILEO)

Basic summaries of political and economic history for each country in the world.

Business Source Complete (in GALILEO)

Country reports for many countries containing useful summaries and analysis of the business climate.  A similar database is ABI Inform.

Factiva (in GALILEO)

Factiva is international business news from more than 8,000 publications including The Wall Street Journal, U.S. and foreign newspapers and newswires, magazines and trade journals.  The News Pages (Factiva pages) section is useful for finding the most recent economic and business news from the WSJ and other major publications.  Older news can be searched from the Search section.  Also covers company financials and other information for U.S. public companies.

OECD iLibrary (in GALILEO)

Reports about OECD member countries and economic conditions and development factors.  Lots of statistics about countries including the series, Main Economic Indicators, which is a good source for recent international economic statistics (e.g., GDP) about most of the principal national economies. 

IHS Markit Connect (in GALILEO)

IHS Markit Connect provides a databank of thousands of economic time series (e.g., GDP) from many national government sources, the IMF, and others. Note:  To access the databank hover the mouse over the word 'Economics' in the upper left of the IHS Markit Connect homepage. 

Political Risk Yearbooks (print format only, Ask at Reference Desk, 1st floor Main Library)

An annually updated report for each country focusing on the political risk factors that might also affect business and the economy.  Countries of the world are grouped by world region in a series of volumes.  Volumes are not all shelved next to each other.

Company information resources

 Company financials, performance, annual reports, suppliers and buyers 

1. Public companies

D&B Hoovers (in GALILEO)  

Bureau Van Dijk Orbis  (in GALILEO) 

Information on more than 150 million international companies, public and private including financial institutions. Covers ownership structures, basic financials, news, individuals associated with companies, and more.

Bureau Van Dijk Zephyr (in GALILEO) 

Mergers and acquisitions information.     

Factiva (in GALILEO)

Mergent Online (in GALILEO)

Information on more than 30,000 U.S. and foreign public companies traded on U.S. exchanges. Covers in-depth as-reported and restated financial statements, ownership structures, news, individuals associated with companies, links to filings such as 10-K and other SEC reports and more.

Thomson One (in GALILEO) (Only works with Internet Explorer 11.0.)

Similar to Mergent.  Large collection of historical 10-K reports and other filings. 

FactSet (provided through Terry College of Business.)

FactSet is a database of current securities data and information used for investment portfolio management: It offers in-depth company profiles of global public firms including financials, list of suppliers/customers, news, and more. Also includes global market performance, global industry performance & component companies, and global economic indicators press releases. Note: Contact John Prechtel for information about requesting a login. If you are doing group projects, I suggest just one or two students in each group request a login.

2. Private companies

D&B Hoovers (in GALILEO)  

Reference USA (in GALILEO)

Company directory covering 54 million U.S. companies, private and public. Useful for finding basic information about small businesses and searching by radius.

Bureau Van Dijk Orbis (in GALILEO)

Mergent Intellect (in GALILEO)

280 million private and public companies worldwide.  Also contains U.S. consumer demographic and lifestyle data as well as industry data.

​PrivCo (in GALILEO)   (Registration with a valid UGA email address is required to use the database)

Information about private companies, primarily U.S.  Includes basic financial data, number of employees, company contacts, whether family-owned or private equity backed, M&A history, and competitor lists for private companies. Amount of data available varies by company.  

 

 

More resources...

Management : GALILEO Databases

More databases for general management research.

Your Librarian

John Prechtel's picture
John Prechtel
Contact:
Main Library Research & Instruction Department

706 542 3472
prechtel@uga.edu
Website
Subjects:Law

Chat with a Librarian