Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EDHI 6990: Application of Research in Higher Education (Webber): Suggested Databases

Suggested Databases

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.

APA PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines

Annual Report of State Government Finances. Data from the Census Bureau. State Government Finances provides a comprehensive summary of annual survey findings for state governments. The tables and data files present a treasure trove of information.

Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database that provides full-text access to many peer-reviewed business related journals, including disciplines such as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.

CQ Public Affairs Collection brings together CQ Press's current affairs content in a single integrated reference tool.

EBSCO Databases--When using EBSCO databases, you can search multiple databases simultaneously. To do this, click on the "Choose Databases" above the search screen when you're in an EBSCO database. Below are some which may be useful. Public Affairs-related databases are already listed above. You can also search multiple databases in the ProQuest databases.

EconLit, the American Economic Association's electronic database, includes citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1969.

Education Database, is a nice complement to ERIC@EBSCO & Education Research Complete. Education Database is part of the ProQuest collection and can be searched with other ProQuest databases, including the ProQuest version of ERIC.

Education Research Complete. Covers professional and scholarly journals in all areas of education from early childhood to adult education.

Education Week Education Week is recognized as the premier source of news, information, and analysis on American precollegiate education, featuring daily news, commentary and analysis on policy, legislative and overall shifts and trends in the U.S. K-12 community. Access includes State Highlight Reports which provide over 40 data indicators to assess and compare...performance in key areas, by state. 

ERIC (at EBSCOhost) covers all aspects of education and educational research, includes both abstracts of published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics.

Factiva  This is the only place to find The Wall Street Journal. Other U.S. and foreign newspapers, magazines and trade journals. Company financials. Warning: Use of the files is restricted to purposes of research and education only. Other uses and excessive downloading are strictly prohibited.

See also the Georgia and Government Course Guides

Local Government Financial Documents Online Annual operating budgets of Georgia cities, counties, and school districts that are one million dollars or above.   

New York Times (2008 - the last three months)

Political Science Complete provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.

Public Administration Abstracts (EBSCO) Public Administration Abstracts provides indexing and abstracts for scholarly journals and magazines in public administration, public policy, government finance and budgeting, personnel management, civil service, organizational behavior, and other topics in government and nonprofit administration in the United States and worldwide.

Public Affairs Index (EBSCO) Public Affairs Index covers magazines, academic journals, trade publications, and conference papers on United States and global public affairs and public policy issues. Topics include armed conflict, economic issues, housing, refugees, public health, human rights, and more.

ProQuest Congressional ProQuest Congressional provides extensive historical indexing of Congressional documents. It also provides the full text of recent hearing transcripts, committee reports, bills, bill tracking reports, the Congressional Record, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, U.S. Code, and public laws, as well as the complete historical archives of CRS (Congressional Research Service) reports and Committee Prints. Additional coverage includes biographical profiles of congressmen and senators, committee assignments, voting records and financial data.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses  Discover dissertations & theses from several countries. To see what's been done at UGA, visit our Dissertations Page

Social Work Abstracts is a bibliographic citation database contains references on homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization and related topics.

SocIndex contains full text for 777 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 820 books and monographs, and full text for 13,947 conference papers.

Sociological Collection is a database with more than 475 full-text titles.

Southern Regional Education Board (SREB) SREB was created in 1948 by Southern governors and legislators who recognized the link between education and economic vitality. SREB's Annual Meeting and Legislative Advisory Council meetings bring together legislators, agency heads and other policy-makers.

Statistical Abstract of the United States. The Statistical Abstract of the United States Online compiles statistical tables from a wide array of federal, state, and local agencies; nonprofit and industry associations; and research organizations.

Urban Studies Abstracts covers essential areas related to urban studies.

Wall Street Journal (2008 up to the last three months)

Washington Post (2008 up to the last three months)

Web of Science is a database with ONLY scholarly materials. One of its nice features is that it displays the number of times an article has been cited as well as the the citations which have been used in that article.

Search Tips

Databases in the EBSCO "family" can be searched simultaneously by clicking on the "choose databases" link above the search box. Select the additional databases you need and click "ok" to search more than one database at a time. When you do this, leave the search option "Select a field" as it is, rather than trying to identify multiple subjects.

ProQuest also has a "family" and the same tips apply to searching there.

Some search tips: The "select a field" option looks at the title, abstract, subject headings & full-text if available. It's a broad kind of search.

  • Create an account within the database to save your results and also to be able to send them to a citation manager. You need only create one account for all the EBSCO databases and one for all the ProQuest databases.
  • Use quotation marks to keep your phrases as phrases: "autism spectrum"
  • Use the asterisk * to expand your search. Type the root of your word~teach~ and add the asterisk~teach* to retrieve teach, teacher, teachers, teaching
  • Keep your synonyms in the same box and join by or. These would be terms that are interchangeable in your search. You'll get more hits this way.
  • Don't type complete sentences but use just the main concepts.
  • Narrow your results to "peer reviewed" to get scholarly materials.
  • Use the blue "find it @ UGA" button to see what kinds of access we have for that article. If it's not available electronically, scroll down to find the link "We may own this item in print" and select the GIL Classic link to if we own this item.
  • If we don't have it in print nor electronically, call on Interlibrary Loan.  They will track down the articles (and books) that we don't have. For free. Articles will come to you as a link in your email to a pdf of the document. Always check to be certain that we don't have print access before submitting your request.
    • The Curriculum Materials Library is delivery point for Interlibrary Loan book deliveries. Make us your default location! Please note, our hours are restricted to 8:00-5:00 due to budget issues. If you will need a later pick-up time, you should request either the Science Library or Main Library as your pick-up/return location for Interlibrary Loan.